This One’s For The Girls

November 1, 2016

To the teenage girls I saw kissing in the McDonalds parking lot before walking in holding hands:

I’m really sorry for staring at you.  I tried not to, but I couldn’t help it.  Perhaps you didn’t notice.  I’d venture to say that if you did notice, you most likely pegged me for an uber-conservative Christian soccer mom who was disgusted by your displays of affection.  If so, you would be wrong.  I am a liberal, heterosexual Christian mom, who’s kids have never played soccer.  (Although in the interest of full disclosure they do play baseball, basketball, football and act in the theater).

I stared because I was in awe, but in a good way.  You see, 20 years ago, before the husband and the kids came along, I spent a lot of time with my friends, most of which happened to be gay.   In our little town in the Bible Belt, the only place they could be comfortable holding hands and kissing was in their home. They feared being “outed” at work.  They were (and still are) estranged from their own families because of who they loved. Seeing you being so blatant about your sexuality in public made me realize how far we have come. My stare was not done out of disgust, but out of admiration.

I am proud that you are brave enough to kiss and hold hands in that parking lot in the rural south without fear of being verbally or physically abused.  I hope you can always be open with your love without fear.  I also hope you realize that it wasn’t always that way.

 

Leave a Reply

