Isn’t It Ironic, Yeah, I Really Do Think……

September 22, 2011

Its like rain on your wedding day

or the free ride when you’ve already paid

or the good advice that you just didn’t take

or finding out your losing your job the day after you husband starts a permanent job for the first time in nearly a year.

Yep, that’s where we are folks.  It came as a huge surprise.  I have one week left at the job I thought I would retire from.  The job I poured my heart and soul into.  The one I went to while my child was hospitalized, the one I went to the day my grandma died, the one I went to one cold December morning when I was puking my guts out.  The one I missed countless ballgames, parent teacher conferences and various other child-related activities for. 

Being as I’m the only one losing my job (another story entirely), it feels like I’m going to my own week long wake.  The past 2 days have dragged on and on forever.  Even though I have no idea what I’m going to do with the rest of my life, I’m SOOOO ready for next Friday to be over with.   And although I’m depressed about it, I think it will all work out for the best.  After the initial shock wore off, I started viewing this as an opportunity rather than a setback.  With approved unemployment benefits I can draw a check to stay home with my kids, and make up for all the time that I’ve lost.  And even though I know I’ll have to eventually take a job making far less than I was making, it’s also an opportunity for God to open another door for me.  Perhaps a door that offers weekends off, health insurance, and a retirement plan, which are all things I have never had. 

I’ll be quite honest, this new happy, glass half full, attitude is due in part to the fact that a mere 2 hours after submitting one resume online, I got a nibble!   Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

