45 Post Challenge

August 24, 2010

I need some motivation to make me post on here more, so I’ve taken it upon myself to do a 45 post challenge.  One of my real life facebook friends is doing it on her notes and I thought it would provide me with some good blog fodder.  Without further ado, here is day 1.

Topic:  School/Work

I finished college in December of 2000 with a degree in Business Administration.  Since that time I haven’t done anything useful with said degree.  Upon graduation I kept the same job I had been in pretty much since I entered college.  It was at a small, family owned business and it was because of that job that I chose business as my major.  It paid comperable to other jobs in the market, I loved it, and the owners loved me, and it didn’t matter to me that it didn’t have benefits or vacation time.  I was so drained from college that I didn’t have the energy to change. 

I stayed in my comfort zone until 2008, when my present employer made an offer I couldn’t refuse.  Still no benefits, but this year I will nearly double the salary I made with my previous employer.  The hours are long and demanding, but twice a year I get a weekly paid vacation, which I now know the importance of.  Being as my position is “temporary” I have no sick leave, paid holidays, or health insurance, I get paid considerably less than my counterparts that do the same job, and I often have to work 6 days a week 50 plus hours a week, in whatever weather conditions mother nature throws at me.  But, at the end of the day, I get paid well to walk around, getting exersize and a suntan while listening to Bon Jovi on my MP3 player.  It provides for my family, and I’m thankful every day for it. 

I recently took some criticism from a family memeber because I’m not using my degree.  I’m making more money than I could in most jobs in my field.  About 1/3 of the people in my office that do the same thing I do have college degrees.  One even has a teaching degree.  Our field pays well, and at the end of the day isn’t that what it’s all about? 

As for the future, I do indeed like my job and I hope to one day be a real employee.  And if not, I always have my college degree to fall back on.

One Response to “45 Post Challenge”

  1. bluesuit12 Says:

    I say congrats on the good earning job even if you aren’t using your degree. I got my degree in 2001 in Social Work and haven’t used it. I’m now back in school for a masters in teaching; totally new field but maybe I’ll use it this time?


Leave a Reply

