I Think It’s Love

April 29, 2009

Since having kids, and consequently no money, vehicles have became something that I could care less about.  As long as it has 4 wheels and gets me where I’m going, I couldn’t care less about outward appearances.  Well….a CD player is a must, as is air conditioning, but besides that, I really don’t care.  My current ride is a 2000 silver Dodge Caravan, which I have been driving for the past 7 years.  It now has nearly 170,000 miles, makes a really bad squeking noise, has exterior parts that are held on with zip ties, you can’t roll the drivers side window down, or it will get stuck, and an inaccurate clock.  (ok, that last one is entirely operator error, but I can never remember how to set the damn thing).  Despite all these things that are wrong, it does have a few things that are right.  It’s paid for, and the CD player and air conditioning work. 

J keeps talking about replacing the minivan, and asking what I want to get next, wanting to go on test drives.  I keep putting it off.  I’m in no hurry, or at least I wasn’t.  I hate making decisions.  I also hate wasting time, and as I planned to drive the van until it died, I saw no point in wasting my time, or the time of a car salesman.  I didn’t know what I want, with the kids growing up and running around with friends, I was even considering another minivan, or a gas-saving sedan.  It seemed there are too many choices and nothing that really stood out. 

That all changed Satruday while I was at work, when I met Blue Chevy, last name  Trailblazer, freshly bathed and pulling out of a car wash.  It was love at first sight. 

trailblazer

Isn’t he handsome? 

One look was all it took, and I was hooked.  I knew what I wanted next time around.  Looks aren’t everything though, and Chevy fails to live up to my budget or gas mileage standards, also with a 5 person capacity I don’t know if he will meet my needs in the immediate future.  However, all hope is not lost, as my brother in law is a Chevy salesman. 

I still plan on putting off my decision for as long as possible, and I hope the silver mom-mobile will stay with us for at least the next year and a half or so.  After that time Sir-Sweats-Alot will be in school and our budget will see some relief from childcare expenses.  However, when it does bite the dust, I have a better idea of what will take it’s place on my side of the carport.

8 Responses to “I Think It’s Love”

  1. bluesuit12 Says:

    Ooh, he looks good! When I was in high school I drove a brown 80 something mini van. The speedometer was broken as was the gear shift (is that what it’s called?). The tape player didn’t work and the radio dial would only go part way up. But at least the air conditioning worked and lucky my favorite radio station was in the range where the dial worked. HAHA I was styling.

  2. Alyson Says:

    That’s hilarious. I’m sure all the other kids were green with envy.

  3. Liz Says:

    Oh, I like this too!!!

  4. Alyson Says:

    When I get it, we’ll have to drive straight to the Olive Garden for lemon cake and margarita’s.

  5. Liz Says:

    lol…call me & I’ll meet you there! 🙂


  6. […] overheated, and we decided to break down and purchase me a new vehicle now rather than later.  Remember what I wanted?  Well, I got it, sort of.  Mine is a 2006 model, and is a big version that seats 7.  It’s […]

  7. NLP Book : Says:

    when car washing, i just use a high pressure cleaner and my own hands to clean off those hardened dirt“~


  8. CD Players are nice but today we have DVD players and Blu-ray players that are even nicer -,”


Leave a Reply

