Bedtime, Prayer Time

January 20, 2009

For years prayer time with my oldest son has been a bit of a blessing and a curse.  He wants to ask the Lord’s blessings on everyone that he has ever met, heard of, seen of television, etc…..which is quite alot of people for his 6 years. 

A couple of years ago, he wanted to add the characters from Scooby Doo and The Wiggles to his already lengthy list.  A battle ensued, as I wasn’t going to waste time praying for fictional characters.  Eventually, we reached a compromise in which I allowed him to pray for The Wiggles, since they are real-live people, but not the animated Scooby.  The fact that the voices of Scooby, Shaggy and the gang are supplied by real live people didnt’ escape his attention.  He begged, but still I held my ground.   I am quite thankful that he didn’t remember the existence of the live-action Scooby Doo movies.

Fast forward to last night.  The prayer list went something like this:  Mommy, daddy, brothers and sisters, grandparents, aunts, uncles, Sunday School teachers and friends, school classmates, 3rd cousins (honestly), the old pastor, the new pastor, and Ninnevah, the new pastor’s dog, proof that my son now officially prays for everyone and their dog.

4 Responses to “Bedtime, Prayer Time”

  1. bluesuit12 Says:

    haha I think that’s cute. I used to do the same thing back in the day and then switched over to generalizations like “please bless everyone, you know what that entails”

  2. Alyson Says:

    Me too. I do the generalizations now for myself, when I have time.


  3. I do that as well, and still do the generalizations…that’s cute though!


Leave a Reply

