No Wonder Kids Are Stressed

January 16, 2009

Here is a sample of the things expected of Karate boy from his school:

Homework:  3 nights a week, approximately 10-15 minutes, plus one extra practice page each week.  Practicing his reading book 10 minutes each night, practicing on his sight words, and reading with a parent 60 minutes per week.  Practicing his handwriting, and new this week are skills packets, to be reviewed 10 minutes each night.   Not to mention practicing Tae Kwon Do and reviewing his AWANA literature for church. 

Did I mention that HE’S IN KINDERGARTEN!!!!!!!!!!

I hate to see what the later years are going to bring.

6 Responses to “No Wonder Kids Are Stressed”

  1. Red Says:

    a lot lot lot more.
    *sigh*

  2. bluesuit12 Says:

    I don’t know why schools are like this. I don’t remember that much work when I was in kindergarten and I think I turned out just fine. Why not let kids be kids and play? My friend’s son started getting homework for the first time from school and he’s only 3 and in pre-school!! Craziness.

  3. Alyson Says:

    @ Red: That’s what I figured, and I’ll have 2 kids in school then. Ugh.

    @ bluesuit: It is completely insane. I remember having homework once a week in kindergarten, that’s it. (I also remember the teacher isolating a boy that pooped his pants and telling us to not go near him, and then spraying lysol all around him. When my own little one had a bout with the runs last week I was thrilled that his teacher was alot more sensitive than mine)

  4. Liz Says:

    Hey!
    First just let me say that I have not been on the internet for a long time now because of various reason, but I’m @ B & A’s house & decided to catch up on your’s & Brian’s Blogsites. I had forgotten how much I enjoy reading them especially your’s (don’t tell B…opps!) You have a gift of finding the humor in everything! I love your choice of wording, so, don’t stop!
    Okay, now. How long has this teacher been teaching? Zach is in K @ Central & his teacher is awesome (I have never said that about any teacher before, but she is!) Anyway, he only brings home one page of homework on Tuesday nights. He does bring home one or 2 books a week but that’s it. He enjoys school & loves his teacher. Kids should enjoy school at this age there is plenty of time to make them hate it later!
    However, I do know that soon Preschoolers will be required to learn to read BEFORE going to K! I don’t understand why because not every kid is eligible for preschool so that would mean that some kids would(might) know how & alot wouldn’t!
    No wonder our parent’s called it the ‘good ole’days!’ In the good ole’days I remember having fun in K just learning my ABC’s, #’s, paying a rock to slide down the slide, running from all the boys(I use to be the fast-runner in K. lol) Yep, them was the good ole’days, alright!

  5. Alyson Says:

    Thanks so much for the kind words. I understand not having time to check out blogs. I feel like I never update anymore, and so many that I love to read, I seldom have time to anymore.

    Sounds like Central has got the right idea.
    Karate Boy’s teacher is great. He loves her and he loves school. They only have homework on Monday, Tuesday and Thursday’s, and it takes him about 5 minutes each night. We’ve kinda cooled off on doing the other things each night, but only because he’s………well, bright, if I do say so myself. Sometimes we never go over his reading book at home and he gets a new one on reading day anyhow.

    That’s completely insane about being required to read before K. I thought that was the whole point of kindergarten. Karate boy didn’t go to pre-school, and Sir Sweats alot probably won’t either. It was going to cost us over $700 to send them to public school for only 1/2 a day, then have to pay again for childcare the other 1/2. Obviously it hasn’t hurt Karate boy any!

  6. Alyson Says:

    Oh, and I agree, those were the good old days!


Leave a Reply

