I Scream and Ice Cream

January 8, 2009

A very wise and handsome rock star with great hair and teeth was once asked about the longevity of his marriage in an interview.  His response included the statement that he didn’t feel the need to sample all 32 flavors at Baskin Robbins, he liked chocolate chip and would stick with that.  Now, that’s not a direct quote, but that’s the gest of the statement.   I tell you that so that, so that my next statement makes sense.  Ready?

My home office is my chocolate chip, or in my case rocky road.  The job itself is the rich, delicious chocolate that I enjoy so much, my co-workers are the sweet chocolate chips, with a few nuts mixed in, and management is the marshmallow that holds it all together.  I like rocky road.  I can see myself with rocky road permanently, career-wise anyway.  (Not till death, as in the marriage analogy, as I would like to eventually retire).

The office I was sent to yesterday is strawberry.  Located in a smaller town, equidistant from home with nice friendly people, I rather enjoy it on occasion.  (Sampling other ice creams is only encouraged in the work analogy, NOT the marriage one)

That other office, where I’ve been sent the last 2 Saturday’s, is my butter pecan.  It’s okay, and I’ll eat it if there is nothing else available, however, it is not my favorite, by far.  The entire town is chock full of nuts, but since it’s only an extra 10 miles from home, for which I am reimbursed mileage, it’s tolerable, on occasion.    

However, the office where I was sent 3 times last week is like snot flavored ice cream with anchovy chunks.  It’s horrid, and not to be enjoyed by anyone.  In a town I’m not very familiar with, with quadruple the size and workload of the rocky road office I find myself miserable each time I’m there.  I never feel like I am doing an adequate job to please the management there.   When I leave the premesis, it is always with a massive headache, with an extra 30-45 minutes commute time to get home.  I know that considering today’s gas prices, I am paid a very generous mileage reimbursment, however, that extra 1 to 1.5 hours I miss with my kids each day I work in the snot office can never be reimbursed.

Snot and anchovy ice cream is only to be partaken of in the absence of all other food sources, and even then only occasionally.  I’ll do it, if that is all there is to do, but I won’t like it, at least not as much as rocky road. 

I bust my ass for whichever office I’m in, participating in the whole musical offices, hypothetical ice cream tasting, in the hope that one day soon I’ll become a permanent fixture, complete with benefits, with one of the flavors, hopefully rocky road.  I like rocky road. 

Please God, give me some ice cream, and hopefully not the snot flavor.

5 Responses to “I Scream and Ice Cream”


  1. I hav found very few Rocky Road offices…most of them are like ear wax!

  2. bluesuit12 Says:

    I loved this post with your ice cream analogies! I hope you end up with rocky road eventually and not snot b/c like you said it’s not to be enjoyed by anyone. I really do wish you the best and now I think I might head to the store for some mint chocolate chip ice cream.

  3. Red Says:

    Eww .. I hope you dont have to go to Snotsville too often, Alyson.
    RockyRoad sounds much more to your liking. I hope everyone works out for you.

  4. Alyson Says:

    @ electrician: Earwax…nice. Reminds me of Bertie Botts beans from Harry Potter.

    @ bluesuit: THanks so much. I hope to end up with rocky road too, although today was a snot day.

    @ Red: Thank you! I’m getting more familiar with snotsville, but still don’t like it.

  5. Brian Says:

    This was a very creative and well-written post. I also hope that you get Rocky Road soon. You deserve it!!


Leave a Reply

