Sadness

December 20, 2008

Disclaimer:  On a depression level of 1-10, this rates a 15.  Consider yourself warned. 

For the last month my co-worker, who I’ll call Linda, has been on cloud 9.  Her daughter was due to give birth to Linda’s grandchild, a girl, a few days ago.  The past month has been filled with false alarms, each one adding to Linda’s excitement about the new addition.  With each new schedule that was posted at work Linda would ask our fellow co-workers if they would be willing to work on their days off if her daughter’s bundle of joy arrived that week, “I’ll need time off to hold her”, she claimed. 

Yesterday, my last day of vacation, I was at the local hospital taking my son to the doctor, when I ran into a co-worker. 

“Did you hear about Linda?” she asked. 

When I replied that I hadn’t she informed me that Linda’s granddaughter had arrived at 4 am that morning, perfectly healthy, but that there were some complications and that Linda’s daughter was in critical condition and not expected to make it. 

Upon arriving at work this morning a co-worker met me at the door and told me that they were going to take her off life support.  Brain dead, he told me.  That is the last word I recieved.   

Although I never met Linda’s daughter, my heart is breaking, and I am filled with sadness and tears for so many reasons, and for so many people.  For Linda, for whom this was supposed to be such a happy time.  For the unfairness of such a young life being cut short.  For a young man thrust into single fatherhood.  For a family, for whom Christmas will never be the same.  Ever.  For an infant who will never know her birth mother.

Why, in 2008, should someone die from childbirth?  There are so many things that don’t make sense to me. 

Please keep Linda and her family in her prayers.

8 Responses to “Sadness”

  1. Brian Says:

    How awful!! I can’t even begin to imagine what Linda and her family are going through right now.

  2. birdpress Says:

    Thank you for warning me. That is just the saddest thing I could have read. How heartbreaking for everyone involved. I will say a prayer for Linda and her family.

  3. Alyson Says:

    @ Brian: Me either. I honestly don’t remember being this upset and confused when I’ve lost someone close to me.

    @ birdpress: Thanks for your prayers.

  4. bluesuit12 Says:

    Oh my gosh I feel awful for this family! I don’t even know what to say. I will definitely keep them in my prayers.

  5. alyson Says:

    Thank you so much.

  6. Alyssa Says:

    I am so sorry to hear about this. After mine and my sons near death experience during his birth – I asked my doctor “Why?” and she said there is no explanation because there is still to much left unknown about all of the millions of things that happen to a womans body during pregnancy and childbirth. The truth is that 1 in about 150 women die during childbirth. I cross checked this with another doctor and a friend in my family who is a doula. It’s true. They all agree thats about the rate.

    How frightening. I’m almost ready to count my blessings and close up the baby shop in fear of death – even though the chances of what happened to me happening again are even less than 1/150.

    I ask myself why were we the lucky ones who made it out alive, no damage, me with a uterus and my son with no oxygen loss or brain damage… I ask myself questions like this every single day and I cannot yet find an answer for them..

    I do hope your coworkers family can find peace…

  7. Red Says:

    Oh jeebus, Alyson . . this is just awful. Just plum awful. Prayers will be sent out tonight!

  8. Alyson Says:

    @ Alyssa: I had no idea you had an experience like that. That’s terrible, and you are so blessed to be healthy and have a healthy son.

    @ Red: Thanks. I know they appreciate it.


Leave a Reply

