You Know What They Say About Good Intentions

December 19, 2008

I had very good intentions to write some proper posts, as well as accomplish many other things on my staycation to do list.  Good intentions that didn’t come to light. 

Saturday, our intended, “get all the damn Christmas shopping done day”, turned into a disaster once my husband got called in to his job due to an emergency.  In the 13 plus hours we were away from home we managed to accomplish next to NOTHING.  We didn’t even get to buy any groceries.

Sunday morning found me arguing with Sir-Sweats-Alot over rather or not he was going to participate in the church Christmas program.  Following a brief temper tantrum on my part, in which I sat in my chair a mere 5 minutes before we were due to be at church and shouted, “We’re not going, we’re never going anywhere again!”, he finally conceeded, due in part to some major bribing on my part. 

Sunday evening we attended a live play of, “A Christmas Story” at our local theater, accompanied by my sister and her husband as well as Brian and Alan.  We took Karate boy, who thoroughly enjoyed the experience and can’t wait to go back.   Following the play we enjoyed an excellent meal and desert, followed by dominoes at our house, where Brian dominated. 

Monday mid-morning found Sir-Sweats-Alot and myself at the local grocery, along with everyone else in the county, as an ice storm had been predicted.  After loading up a butt-load of groceries, our assistance was required at my granny’s and we spent the next few hours helping her run errands for her elderly, mentally unstable brother.  Good times……..  After lunch at McDonalds with Brian and Alan (the bribe for the Christmas program), we picked up karate boy from school to round out our already wasted day.

The ice did come, so Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday found karate boy home from school.  The whole middle part of the week is a blur of movies, baking, snacking and Christmas crafts.  I swear, if I have to watch, “A Christmas Story” one more time this year I’ll shoot my own eye out. 

Today SSA has been sick, so we’ve been to the doctor, and the lab, and the pharmacy.  Then to KB’s school (twice).  We are currently waiting on my grandparents to come over, then KB has karate.  Tommorrow it’s back to the slave quarters, so my vacation is pretty much in the bag. 
That said, it was such a blessing to get to spend time with both boys rather than just one.  I did manage to take some goodies to old work yesterday, stay away from new work (until today that is, when I ran into a co-worker and a supervisor), spend time with Brian and Alan, and clean out the pantry and the bathroom closet (if you listen closely Monday morning you will probably hear the sound of my trash-man groan).

2 Responses to “You Know What They Say About Good Intentions”

  1. Red Says:

    Just reading this post made me tired.

  2. Alyson Says:

    I know, I had to go back to work to get a break. lol.


Leave a Reply

