I Am On A Break

December 12, 2008

In less than 10 hours I start my, “service break”, (an insider term for time off without pay, although I am getting a check for my unused vacation time (52 hours) so it’s not really without pay).  I don’t have to go back to work until next Saturday, the 20th.  In honor of my first vacation, break, staycation of my adult life, and consistent with my type A, OCD personality, I have composed the following “to do” list for my time off.

  1. Spend time with Brian and Alan.*
  2. Bake Christmas goodies, espically sausage balls, hershey kiss cookies, and peanut butter balls.
  3. Go visit old work, with goodies in hand.
  4. Stay as far away from new work as possible (no goodies for them, huh?)
  5. Fix dinner for my family every night.
  6. Eat dinner off Grandma’s Christmas plates, which I inherited but have never used.
  7. Finish, okay start, those Christmas cards.
  8. Clean out both refrigerators.
  9. Finish buying and wrapping Christmas presents.
  10. Watch, “Home For The Holidays”, and “Christmas Vacation”.
  11. Blog more.
  12. Try not to gain 1o pounds.
  13. Spend time with my grandparents, and not go crazy doing so.
  14. File the 3′ of paperwork that is sitting on top of the filing cabinet.
  15. Rest.

* When I typed this I thought of a shirt my stepson has that says, “You’re #1 on my to do list”.  A shirt that was highly inapproporiate for a teenage boy and caused a huge fight in our house when he lived here.  So Brian, Alan, I guess you two are #1 on my to do list.

5 Responses to “I Am On A Break”

  1. Brian Says:

    LOL at the t-shirt and being #1 on your to do list!! You’re hilarious.

  2. bluesuit12 Says:

    I hope you enjoy your time off. Sounds like you have a lot of stuff to do. I just watched Christmas Vacation the other day for the first time in a long time. Man, that is a funny show.

  3. alyson Says:

    I haven’t managed to accomplish much of the stuff on my list, although I have done #1. We have watched, “A Christmas Story” multiple times though.

    Lampoons is one of my favorite Christmas movies. Love it.

  4. Allison Says:

    Ha! I did the same thing…well, some of the same things. I made the Hershey Kiss cookies and took them (along with a gazillion other kinds of cookies) to my old workplace. I did not visit Brian and Alan. Probably because I don’t know Brian and Alan 🙂

  5. alyson Says:

    I actually never got around to the hershey’s kiss cookies, I did however, take sausage balls to old work, which seems to be their holiday snack of choice.


Leave a Reply

