Long Time No Post…..

November 20, 2008

Remember last year when I posted here nearly every day?  Well, every day that I worked anyways.  Know why?  Because I had absolutely nothing to do at my job.  It was at a construction office, and cold weather really slowed things down.  Back then, work was where I updated my blog (and checked the blogs of others) balanced my checkbook, Christmas shopped, made my anal retentive Christmas gift spreadsheet, made my shopping list, tyed and copied recipes for my cookbook that I gave to friends and family last year as a gift, scoped out black Friday deals online and planned my strategy for shopping, and completed the entire process of sending out Christmas cards.  Such the model employee, I was.

My how a year changes things.  This year finds me paying for the workplace sins of my past.  Now I’m working 8 plus hours a day, 6 days a week, and working hard, with no sign of any relief anytime in the near future.  I’m way more fulfilled now, but I do wish I had time with the family, and to write those pesky receipts in the checkbook. 

Oh, and if you’re expecting a Christmas card from me, look for it in mid-February, when I get my one week “vacation”.

11 Responses to “Long Time No Post…..”


  1. Especially in the construction world…these are different economic times.

    Are you still in construction?

  2. bluesuit12 Says:

    Glad to see you back! My current job is kind of like your construction one. I have a lot of free time on the computer. My job ends in a month and I guess I’ll just have a lot of free time.

  3. Alyson Says:

    @ electrician: I can imagine.

    No, I am currently a letter carrier, so this is a REALLY BUSY time for me.

    @ bluesuit: Thanks. I miss the free time, but I love the new job.

    Good luck in your work future.


  4. You haven’t posted in a while…I knew what you did…just forgot!

  5. Brian Says:

    I know what you mean. I have sooooo much more responsibility at my new job too, but I’m still much happier.

    Don’t worry about those Christmas cards. I’m considering not messing with them this year either. 😉

  6. Alyson Says:

    @ electircian: Understandable, espically since I took most work references off my blog, as I wasn’t sure about blog/work protocol.

    @ Brian: I really love the new job, I just wish I could have a small break from it now and them.

    I’m really thinking about sitting this one our card-wise too, although I feel like I should send them, job security, ya know?

  7. Allison Says:

    I know what you mean too…my blogging activity definitely took a hit with the new job. I guess I’ll be working on Christmas cards at home this year 🙂

  8. romi41 Says:

    wow…well at least time flies because you’re fulfilled by what you do…(but you were so productive on “life stuff” at the old job! 😉 )

  9. Alyson Says:

    @ Allison: I really miss getting paid to do all my personal business. By my calculations, my church owes my old job tons of money for all the Sunday School and VBS work I did while on the job.

    @ romi: I know, I miss blogging……


  10. The only good thing about a slow job is the free internet. Are you still working, or did you just get busier? I hate when work cuts into blogging time, lol!

  11. Alyson Says:

    I started a new job as a city letter carrier. No down time there.


Leave a Reply

