Election Night Ponderings

November 4, 2008

Will this be the year that I pick a winner?  I was of age to vote in ’96, but didn’t get registered in time to vote for Clinton.   Hell, I didn’t even get registered until 2 years later.   Therefore, my first presidential election was in 2000 and I voted for Gore.  In 2004 I voted for Kerry.  My vote was cast for Obama this morning.  I’m 31 years old and have never voted for a winning president.  Maybe my losing streak is over. 

Why does this Chuck Todd guy on NBC creep me out so much?  Oh yeah, because he looks exactly like my former gyno, whom I secretely dubbed, “the crotch whisperer”. 

8 years ago at Christmas my aunt and her husband made the remark that Gore should not have been allowed to win regardless because he couldn’t even carry his home state.  It should be noted that they are both die hard Republicans.  I wonder if they will feel the same way if McCain doesn’t carry Arizona?  I wonder what their reply would be if he doesn’t and I bring these facts up at our family get together Saturday night? 

Do daughters let dads vote under the influence?  My dad picked me up this morning to go vote and he absolutely reeked of canibus.  I found it slightly amusing, but also hoped the election officials wouldn’t notice.

9 Responses to “Election Night Ponderings”

  1. Brian Says:

    You picked a winner, girl!!!!

  2. Alyson Says:

    We sure did, although our state didn’t!

  3. bluesuit12 Says:

    I’ve never picked a winner either…until now!! I’d probably really suck in Vegas.

  4. Alyson Says:

    LOL. I’ll stick to voting in favor of Vegas.

  5. Red Says:

    hahaaa! your dad . . that’s funny.
    glad to see you picked a winner, alyson.

  6. ashley Says:

    This is the first election I was old enough to vote for (I missed the last one by a few months). How cool is it that I get to say the first President I voted for was Barack Obama?! I am so excited.

  7. Alyson Says:

    @ Red: He’s quite hilarious. It’s like he is immune to the scent and thinks everyone else is too.

    @ Ashley: That is indeed very cool. You’re makin’ me feel old………well, not old, just older.

  8. kaylee2 Says:

    I hate politics 😉

  9. Alyson Says:

    @ kaylee: I do too, for the most part.


Leave a Reply

