Don’t Mess With The Jovi Fan

October 17, 2008

Blogwise, I pretty much keep my political beliefs to myself.  I don’t feel well enough informed or intelligent to argue politics.  I’ve thought about writing a few posts about Sarah Palin, and more specifically my dislike of her, but I each time I decided against it, until she brought Bon Jovi into it, thus making it personal.

Brian alerted me to the following story yesterday:

Bon Jovi is mad at Sarah Palin for using their “Who Says You Can’t Go Home” song at her rallies. The band joines a list of musical acts including Heart, Jackson Browne, the Foo Fighters and Van Halen that are mad at their songs being used at McCain-Palin events.

TMZ reports:

“We are surprised to hear that our song, “Who Says You Can’t Go Home” was used by the McCain campaign at rallies yesterday and today. We wrote this song as a thank you to those who have supported us over the past twenty-five years. The song has since become a banner for our home state of New Jersey and the defacto theme song for our partnerships around the country to build homes and rebuild communities. Although we were not asked, we do not approve of their use of ‘Home.'”  

Where to begin?  For starters, have you heard the lyrics to this song?  Seriously.  It’s about growing up with dreams of leaving your hometown, only to do so and find out that home, be it Western Kentucky or Wasilla, Alaska, is a pretty awesome place.  A song about going home, and small town virtues,  is probably not the best choice for a candidate hoping to be elected as ruler of the most powerful nation in the world.

Several times on assorted talent themed reality shows, I have noticed contestants choosing songs about, “home”.  The various judges of these contestants always have the same advice.  Don’t sing about going home unless you want to………….via getting the fewest votes.  Sound advice for the republican campaign, doncha’ think?

Furthermore, every staunch Bon Jovi fan knows that Jon Bon Jovi has supported every democratic presidental candidate since the Clinton administration.  Jon and his wife recently held a fundraising dinner for Obama at their home, to the tune of over $ 30,000 per plate.   It really doesn’t seem to me like a smart move to chose a song by an artist that supports your opponent.  Maybe the Republican campaign needs to start doing their homework.

Who says you can’t go home Mrs. Palin?  It certainly wasn’t me. I say you can, and I intend to cast my vote for you to do so.   

 

5 Responses to “Don’t Mess With The Jovi Fan”

  1. kaylee2 Says:

    i agree how you doing?

  2. Brian Says:

    A friend told me the other day that the more she hears about SP, the less she likes her. I think I’ll have to agree. I did love her on SNL, because I have alot of respect for anyone in her position that can poke fun at themselves, but she’s proven herself to be even farther right than the “Right.”

    Obama ’08, baby! 🙂

  3. Alyson Says:

    @ Kaylee: Good to hear from you. Hope you are well.

    @ Brian: I saw a few SNL clips on the Today show and laughed out loud. I think I’m in the same boat as you and your friend.

  4. Red Says:

    hear hear !
    you make an excellent argument, alyson . .who says you can’t discuss politics? you did it, and you did it well.

  5. Alyson Says:

    @ Red: Thank you so much.


Leave a Reply

