Well, At Least I Finally Got A Girl

October 13, 2008

Meet our newest family member, Chloe.

 

 

Friday, J called me at work to tell me that he had, “the cutest things” following him around.  It seemed that one of his co-workers had stopped to get gas before her afternoon shift, and came back to her car to find two tiny flea-infested puppies cowering under her car, apparently abandoned by some douchebag looking for a sucker.  He described them as blue heeler/beagle mixes.  He went on to explain that both puppies had already been spoken for, otherwise, he would bring one home.  I breathed a sigh of relief at this news.  We already have 2 dogs, so we really didn’t need any more. 

His next phone call was to inform me that plans for a home for one of the puppies had fallen through.  Another co-worker had asked him to take the puppy to her home for her, as she wasn’t due to get off work for several hours.  Upon arrival, her husband was less than thrilled with their new addition, and flat refused to take it, leaving J with posession of the doggy. 

“I have to take her home, I can’t just leave her on the side of the road”, he told me, “We’ll just keep her until we can find her a good home”. 

“Yeah, ours”, I thought, as I heard our boys in the background asking, “what are we going to name her”?.

By the time I arrived home, minutes later, the little furball was christened, “Chloe”, after the lead character in “Beverly Hills Chihuahua”. 

She is a cutie, and already has a special place in our hearts.  The boys adore her, and the feeling is mutual.  She follows them around everywhere, and they check up on her constantly.  We let her come in the house some, and she promptly curls up on someone’s lap, or in a quiet spot, for a long nap. 

We have actually had an offer by someone to provide her a good home, but it ain’t happening.  She already has one………….ours.

13 Responses to “Well, At Least I Finally Got A Girl”

  1. talea Says:

    Gah!Puppy! She’s adorable, I used to have a dog with one blue, one brown eye. People always assumed she was blind in one eye, but she saw just fine.
    Chloe is adorable. I would like to eat her up.

  2. Brian Says:

    So sweet! Aren’t people just total bastards for treating animals that way? I don’t know how someone could just abandon babies like that.

  3. Alyson Says:

    @ Talea: Thanks. She has really grown on me. She is a wonderful puppy.

    @ Brian: Thanks. Hopefully you’ll get to meet her in person (err……dog) soon.

    People are awful. I thought about calling the humane society and seeing about getting a review of the security tapes from the gas station. It happened at that busy station right down the 4 lane from your house.

    I can’t help but wonder, what if the woman wouldn’t have seen the pups under her car and accidentally killed them? My original draft of thsi post had the work fuckwad in place of douchebag, maybe I shouldn’t have edited it……..

  4. bluesuit12 Says:

    Oh my gosh she’s the cutest thing ever!! I love her eyes. Props to you for giving her a great home.

  5. Alyson Says:

    Thanks so much. She is a sweetie.

  6. birdpress Says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. I followed your link. Cute puppy! It looks like an Australian shepherd to me. Chloe is a good name; I groom a few Chloes actually. Good luck with her, and good for you for giving her a home!

  7. Allison Says:

    Awww…Chloe is a cute name. I think I have a thing for hte OH-EE sound..hence the name Zoe for my dog.

    She’s a lucky dog 🙂

  8. Alyson Says:

    @ birdpress: Yeah, since writing that we’ve decided she’s an Australian Sheppard. She is a great dog, excellent with the kids. Thanks.

    @ Allison: Thanks. We have a friend who’s daughter’s name is Chloe, so now we have to specify if we’re talking about 4 legged or 2 legged Chole.

    She is rotten.

  9. Pammy Girl Says:

    I’m jealous! Such a cutie! Oh, I learned this while studying for my California license: depositing of an unwanted animal on the side of the road is a $1,000 fine and up to 6 months in jail or both.

  10. Red Says:

    how shweet !!

  11. Alyson Says:

    @ Pammy: Thank you. I must check on the KY law regarding dropping animals. I think California’s is excellent, provided it is properly enforced.

    @ Red: Thank you. She is a sweetie.

  12. Dizzle Says:

    There’d better be a extra hot firey pit in hell reserved for those who abandon or abuse animals.

    Sending you good JuJu for taken her in! What an adorable addition. The more 4-leggeds in the house, the warmer the home 🙂

  13. alyson Says:

    I agree. Thanks for the happy thoughts, we adore her, she fits right in.


Leave a Reply

