We’ll Always Have The Neighborhood Of Make Believe

October 1, 2008

I’m sure it’s no surprise that my former BFF and I shared tons of inside jokes in our 13 years of freindship.  Often a song, movie, tv show, or an event in general will take me back in time, to happy memories of our youth, and the silly jokes we shared. 

Every 4 years during the olympics I remember Laura and I keeping Brian up way too late as we sat up camp at his house in 1996 watching the women’s gymnastics team take the gold.  Good times, good memories, which are put up on a mental shelf to be taken down and dusted off in another 4 years.  I’m often amazed at how some of these memories can be triggered, making me think of and recall things I haven’t thought of in over a decade. 

As a small child I was a huge fan of Mister Rogers’ Neighborhood.  For a reason which escapes me now, in junior high, Laura and I began a daily ritual in which she and I would call each other and watch Mister Rogers together.  During this time we would discuss important questions like, “Is there a Mrs. McFeely?” and if not could I be her?  How or why this ritual began I don’t know, but it went on for longer than I am proud of, we were in 7th grade for crying out loud!   

We kept up the Mister Rogers inside jokes for several years.  I even found a Mister Rogers Valentine’s card for her one year, which she professes to still having.

Laura and I recently reconnected via facebook.  When she saw that I am now a mail carrier, she left the following message:

       so….it’s true….u really are mrs mcfeely….lol….thats so wild girl, im so happy for you!!! miss u tons…
2 Responses to “We’ll Always Have The Neighborhood Of Make Believe”

  1. bluesuit12 Says:

    Inside jokes are the best!! I’m glad you were able to reconnect with your friend and keep the jokes going.

  2. Alyson Says:

    I agree about inside jokes!

    Thanks.


Leave a Reply

