Watershed Moments In Weight

September 22, 2008

I remember very vividly the day I stepped on my mom’s scale and saw 276.5 staring back at me.  At the time I thought I weighted about 250, and when I realized that I weighted closer to 300 than 250, I knew I had to make a change.  I began walking daily, eating tons of steamed veggies, and concocted a plan to reward myself with a much needed haircut when I lost the first 10 pounds. 

I quickly shed those first 10, and about 5 more to boot.  However, eventually walking became a hassle, and steamed veggies my intestine’s mortal enemy, so my new lifestyle soon went by the wayside, but I did manage to keep those first 10 pounds gone. 

I recently stepped on the scale to find a much better number staring back at me.  228!  After weighing in around the 250 mark for years, seeing a number that starts with 2-2 blows my mind.  40 pounds shed since March, and nearly 50 since that fateful day in my mom’s bathroom.  I feel so much better.   Pictures of me taken months ago bear no resembleance to the person I am now.  I loathe my work ID picture of me with a multitude of chins. 

When I try on clothes, I often have to remind myself that I am no longer a size 22, or even a 20.  In fact, I have some shorts that are 16’s, a size I haven’t seen in at least 7 years. 

I can go to “regular” sections and often find clothes now.  I’m no longer limited to life in the “plus” section. 

On a recent shopping trip the realization hit me that I have left my 20’s twice this year.  Once in age, and again in size, and it’s awesome.

After getting a new short layered ‘do, that for once didn’t make my face look incredibly fat, a co-worker who I don’t see all that often told me that he had asked somebody, “who’s the new girl?”, before realizing that it was me.  And you know what, I feel like a new girl. 

Not that 228 is skinny, not that I couldn’t afford to lose another 40, or even 80 pounds, but for now, I’m pretty happy with my new bod.

10 Responses to “Watershed Moments In Weight”


  1. I think the lifestyle change (job included) is amazing. I think that some of the people who step on the scales daily get so “beat up” at the lack of daily progress that they give up.

    Good job!

  2. bluesuit12 Says:

    This is so awesome and I’m very happy for you!! I’m so glad you feel better and whoo hoo to you for getting mistaken for a new girl!!!

  3. Alyson Says:

    @ electrician: I agree. I tried to do this for years, but it took the new job to finally get it done.

    @ bluesuit: Thanks so much!

  4. Brian Says:

    I’m so happy for you, Alyson! You’ve been a brave soul this year in so many ways.

  5. Alyson Says:

    Thank you so much. this year has definitely been crazy, but I truly wouldn’t have it any other way.

    I MISS YOU GUYS!

  6. Red Says:

    you are AWESOME, Alyson!
    it takes a lot of work and determination to lose weight. and you did it, girl!!!!
    YAYYYY YOUUUUUUUUUUU!

    *ahem* I stepped on the scale today. 249 – 26 pounds lost.

  7. Alyson Says:

    Thanks.

    Congrats to you too. Awesome job!

  8. Liz Says:

    Congrats to you!

    I am jealous. 🙂

    Can’t wait to see the new do’. lol

    BTW: My pregnant sister who is due in January and her,just turn one year old, daughter moved into my house 2 wks ago. So, I now have 5 1/2 kids. lol I am beating you in the kid dept. lol
    I am claiming my 23 yr old sister because she is hearing impaired and pregnant and I find myself taking care of her stuff too. (I wanted to use a different s* word but…) 🙂 I am tempted to count the future boy as a whole # but figured since I am not figuritly doing anything for him yet…

    I’m soooo tired. How about you?

  9. Liz Says:

    WE(u, me, Brian, & Alan) need to get together soon!!!!
    I need LAUGHTER!!!!

  10. Alyson Says:

    OMG. You poor thing. I can’t imagine……..

    We do definitely need to get together soon. I think we’re both in need of a night out.


Leave a Reply

