The Karate Kid, Part Hanna

August 26, 2008

Around the same time  the step-kids moved in, my mom and dad decided that my oldest needed to be involved in tae kwon do.  They were so adamant about this, that they paid his tuition, and are providing transportation most of the time.  The classes are at 3:45 pm on weekdays, which is highly inconvenient for my schedule. 

In order to get his white belt at his first class, there were several things he had to learn, such as some of the stances, kicks, and Korean words. At the time it seemed very absurd to be tutoring my child, who wasn’t even in school yet, on a language that I had no knowledge of.  However, I did it, and he passed his white belt test with flying colors.   I learned to count to 5 in Korean, and a handfull of other, pretty much useless Korean words. 

On the way home from his first session, he and the youngest were fighting in the back seat.  I had to stiffle a laugh when I heard him tell his baby bro:  “Don’t make me circle kick you when we get home.”

He has been in Tae Kwon Do for a few weeks now, and he loves it.  He practices at home very dilligently, and even tries to teach his younger brother some moves. 

I just can’t help but wonder if I learned enough Korean to put it on my resume………..

5 Responses to “The Karate Kid, Part Hanna”


  1. […] The Karate Kid:  Our oldest, age 5. […]

  2. ashley Says:

    aww! how funny is that! I’m glad he is enjoying it.

  3. Alyson Says:

    He’s having a wonderful time. It sometimes gets hectic having 4 kids and their activities to get to, but it’s worth it.

  4. Matt Says:

    I’m going to have to remember that circle kick threat! I may use it the next time someone is being slow in line at the grocery. It sounds cool, and that’s the best time (preschool) for someone to actually be learning another language!

  5. Alyson Says:

    Let me know how that goes, I may have to give it a try too.

    I am quite proud of the little fella, he can now count to 5 in 3 different languages.


Leave a Reply

