Life Goes On

August 5, 2008

I just got back from taking my firstborn to Kindergarten.  All day kindergarten.  He couldn’t sleep last night.  He was up and down until after 2 this morning, as was I.  He is so excited about starting school, and I’m thrilled that he is. 

After a few minutes in the classroom, where he looked at me and said, very authoratively, “don’t cry mommy”,  the parents of the kindergarteners were to report to the library for a reading seminar.  Sitting in there, I pondered questions like, what if he forgets his pin # in the cafeteria and doesn’t get to eat?  What if he gets put on the wrong bus and isn’t able to tell the bus driver where he is supposed to go?  What if there’s an earthquake, or tornado, or a teradactyl sweeps in an open window and flies off with him?  What if, what if, what if.  (maybe the first day of kindergarten wasn’t such a great choice of dates for the reading seminar, as I saw a few other teary eyes and worried parents, whom I’m sure were less that focused on the presentation)

“After the seminar, I’ll go to his classroom and take him home with me forever check on him.”, I thought.  But then again, what if that embarassed him……………..

Luckily, his class was taking a bathroom break just outside the library when we exited.  I was able to see him one last time.  He even came up and gave me a big hug and told me all about the breakfast he had just finished.  He seemed to be doing well.  Truthfully, probably better than me.   I am quite proud of myself.  I didn’t cry…….well, not alot anyways.

It seems weird here today.  It’s one of my rare days off, and to just have one kid is strange, but it is nice to have the one on one time with the youngest.  I’m getting lots of hugs and “I love you’s”, and I think he’s thrilled to not have to share the toys and tv. 

Maybe later I’ll convince him to take a nap.  I’m exhausted from my sleepless night and eventful morning.

7 Responses to “Life Goes On”

  1. Brian Says:

    Awww. This has got to be hard, but he’ll be okay! He’s super smart and funny, so he’ll be one of the most popular kids in class.


  2. I still remember that first day and some bits and pieces of the first year of school even though it was over 30 years ago. Most of the stuff I remember are the kids that ate the paste and crayons.

    Just teach him what not ot eat and all will be good. Come to think of it, those paste eaters had issues in the other grades too!

  3. Alyson Says:

    @ Brian: It’s very hard. Thanks. I think he’s super smart and funny, but I’m biased.

    @ electrician: I seem to remember some paste eaters too. I remember bits and pieces of my first day and year too, and it was at the same school where my boy is going, only now they have a new building and it’s much cooler.

  4. Red Says:

    aww . . how sweet.
    i hope his day was a good one! he’ll get the hang of it, and so will mama.

  5. Alyson Says:

    Thanks so much. He had a great day. I quizzed him about everything he did. He got tired of my questions, but later in the evening started opening up about his day. He already knew lots of kids there, so he had an easier time than his older (high school)siblings.

  6. bluesuit12 Says:

    Super sweet! I’m glad to see that he had a good time and is enjoying it. I think that would make it harder to send him back the next day if he came home in tears.

  7. Alyson Says:

    I don’t know if I would be able to do it the next day if he came home crying.

    He didn’t want to get up this morning, at all. I think he’s still behind in his sleep.


Leave a Reply

