Home Visit

July 24, 2008

Next week I have a home visit from the oldest’s new teacher.  I’m dreading it.  I’ll spend days cleaning just for a 5 minute visit.  Crazy.

I’m starting to suspect that the people who thought of this bright idea (home visits) are getting a kick back from the people at Mr. Clean.

8 Responses to “Home Visit”

  1. Allison Says:

    Are you serious? I had no idea that teachers did home visits.

    It always takes having friends over for dinner to prompt me to do a good cleaning.

  2. alyson Says:

    I don’t know if it’s a widespread phenomenon, but they do in our district.

  3. Matt Says:

    lol! I think I’d tell the teacher to stay in the classroom, and I’ll visit there. I’d hate for them to accidentally see my blog address on the computer screen.

  4. Brian Says:

    I’ve never heard of home visits from schools either. Crazy.

  5. bluesuit12 Says:

    This is a new concept to me to. I NEVER had a teacher come to my home. Odd and taxing for both the teacher and the parents.


  6. I am so AGAINST the whole concept. They should worry about the school and let you handle the house.

  7. Red Says:

    I hated those when the kid was in head start. That was required for head start. Haaated it.

  8. Alyson Says:

    @ Matt: LOL. I’ll have to make sure all computers are OFF!

    @ Brian: I know. I hope it’s only one I’ll have.

    @ bluesuit: Me neither. They say they do them because they learn more about the child in their home enviornment. What can they learn in 10 minutes?

    @ electrician: EXACTLY. My friend’s husband says that it’s unconstitutional, and that we all can/should refuse. I’m afraid that if I did that they would begin to suspect something worse, so I guess I’ll do it.

    @ Red: It just seems so pointless to me….


Leave a Reply

