Nice Dress Dude

July 18, 2008

My concern about my children not taking to our new pastor have been completely unfounded.  To say that they adore him is an understatement.  They often call him, “Uncle David”, which mortifies me, but he insists is fine.

The oldest declared his favorite color as green years ago, and has never strayed.  David mentioned that is personal favorite color is red and now my oldest has decided that he now prefers red too.  He even recently insisted on purchasing red shoes.

The boys beg me to stop and say hi if he is out in his yard when we pass by.  Last week we passed him on his scooter, and they asked me to pull over and wait for him to pass us so that they could see him.  I did, then it became necessary for me to pass him AGAIN, and look like a crazed stalker.

On David’s first Sunday, and every Sunday since, he has worn a traditional robe, something we haven’t seen in a long time.  Someone commented that they were surprised that my oldest didn’t say something about the preacher wearing a dress.  My son overheard, and said:

“That wasn’t a dress, that was a ninja outfit.”

7 Responses to “Nice Dress Dude”


  1. Oh, that one had me laughing! Your kids are SOOO cute!


  2. Ninja pastors? He could “chuck” throwing stars at the congregation when they start dozing off.

  3. Alyson Says:

    @ moonbeam: Glad to see you again. Thanks!

    @ electrician: LOL. You don’t know how close to reality your comment is. Last week he made an analogy about spreading God’s love around like candy from a parade route. At the end of the sermon he threw star(bursts) at the congregation.

  4. Allison Says:

    Starbusts? Where is this church of which you speak? I am so there.

  5. Alyson Says:

    LOL. They are one of my faves too. Unfortunately, no candy today.

  6. bluesuit12 Says:

    HAHA!! That’s hilarious of your son! I picture a little boy completely totally straight faced as he says it. Love it!

  7. Alyson Says:

    You’re imagination is dead on. He was totally serious.


Leave a Reply

