Ice Ice Baby

July 18, 2008

It’s friggin hot in the bluegrass state right now, and since I now work outdoors, I’m in it through the worst part of the day.  For the past couple of months, my gallon water jug has been one of my best friends.  Finding the best way to keep my water nice and chilly has been a daunting task. 

Several years ago our automatic ice maker crapped out on us.  Because I do not believe in spending hundreds of dollars to fix an old fridge just so I can have effortless frozen water, I have made do by constantly filling and emptying those blue plastic trays.   

When I first started carrying my water jug I would empty 3 trays into my jug of water before heading out in the morning.  By the time I arrived at work my cubes were melted, and by the end of the day my water was lukewarm.  I gradually increased my ice amount to 6 trays, our entire ice arsenal, refilling them before leaving for work, only to find that the trays would not be re-frozen in time for that evening’s supper.  Also, my water was still warm by the close of the workday. 

After months of experimentation, I believe I have finally found the perfect way to keep water cool and not waste my precious ice.  Immediately after returning home from work I fill my water jug between halfway and 3/4 full.  Then I stick it in the freezer.  The next morning I top off my frozen ice chunk with water.  The ice block melts throughout the day, ensuring I have a full day’s supply of cold water. 

My only problem now is the occasional brain freeze.

6 Responses to “Ice Ice Baby”

  1. Red Says:

    yessss! drink that water!!
    it’s rediculous out there!!!!!!
    oh, and good idea too on the freezing.


  2. Working construction for years, I came up with the same solution to the warm water issue that you have managed to discover. Necessity is the mother of invention.

    It depends on the amount of room that you have in your freezer, I would keep a rotation just to make sure I didn’t forget to fill and freeze a jug for the next day.

    Hang in there!

  3. Alyson Says:

    @ Red: Thanks. It took me awhile, but I think I finally found what works.

    @ electrician: Great idea about the spare. Sometimes I think I’ll have the next day off and don’t bother to freeze only to get called in the next day.


  4. […] 2, 2008 Apart from my genius cold water method, I have learned 2 other very important lessons from the triple-digit temperatures that have plagued […]


  5. We do this too! Sometimes for kid’s lunches (makes for a great ice pack in the lunch box), but also for days on the boat or at Disney!

  6. Alyson Says:

    Isn’t it the best?

    I’ve started doing it with smaller water bottles in my lunch too. That way my food stays cold, and I have more water if I need it.


Leave a Reply

