Organizational Delima

July 7, 2008

There is something I do when cleaning/organizing that my husband just doesn’t understand.  Actually, he just doesn’t understand anything about cleaning, but that’s beside the point.  He doesn’t understand that sometimes to clean, you have to make a mess.  (Can I get a Hell Yeah from my fellow OCDer’s?)

Sometimes, my boys’ room gets so messy/disorganized, that the only way to effectively clean and organize the myraid of toys they have, is to dump them all in the floor and put them into groups, and then into their rightful home. 

That’s what happened last night.  The boys went to spend the night with their aunt, and I took the opportunity to clean.  I decided to focus my efforts on their bedroom, which was not in terrible shape, but wasn’t picture perfect either. 

Their room had a section of floor to celing built-in shelves where we store bigger toys, and bins of smaller toys.  I have a bin for bigger cars, one for smaller, hot wheel size cars, one for action figures, one for tractors and other farm-oriented toys, and one for other misc. toys.  From time to time, as can be expected, the contents of the bins get mangled, and must be re-established.  So, I spent last night dumping bins, and seperating power rangers from cars and tractors from motorcycles, and establishing Keep/Sell/Toss piles, while my husband looked on, shaking his head in disbelief. 

The process provoked the following question:  Do Transformers belong in the action figure bin or the vehicle bin?  OCDer’s unite, and give me an answer.

10 Responses to “Organizational Delima”


  1. We have these big bins that we use. I will go through and put all of there stuff that isn’t where is belongs and give it to them to put away. I really works and keeps them focused. If we can’t get to it all at once, it allows us to break and come back to it. My wife didn’t like it at first, but it really takes the pressure off and the room looks clean…except fot the bin.

    If we don’t have a place for something…you’d better make room…or stuff begins to disappear!

    Mom and Dad have bins too!

  2. Alyson Says:

    I love bins. They are a great organizational tools.

    Stuff disappears in our house too. After last night’s purge I had to take out the trash quickly before the kids got back and went dumpster diving.

  3. Red Says:

    I say action figures.
    I love you, Alyson. This entry made me smile. Real big. Real real big. 🙂
    I do the same dern thing!! Mess, organize piles, put back, purge.

  4. Alyson Says:

    I put them in action figures too!

    I knew I wasn’t the only one that messed up more in order to clean.

  5. bluesuit12 Says:

    I would have put them in action figures as well. I can live in a mess for a while but then it’ll hit me all at once and I go crazy. A couple of years ago I cleaned my room by removing EVERYTHING out (even some of the furniture) before cleaning. It took a few days to go through all of it but it was so much better in the long run.

  6. Alyson Says:

    I’ve had to adjust to living in a mess with the kids. Now with me working 6 days most weeks and going to church on the 7th, it stays messier than I would like. I do the same thing, sometimes I just can’t take it anymore and clean like a mad woman.

    Our bedroom is rarely cleaned, so it feels like a special treat when I get it done.


  7. Organizing the bins used to make me nuts.

    Now I just hastily throw everything back in the bins completely unorganized!!

    *GASP!!*

    (Can I get a collective *GASP* from the OCD er’s?)

    Rubber blocks mixed with wooden blocks, mixed with plastic blocks . . .

    What could be worse? (lol):)

  8. Alyson Says:

    (shudders)

    Oh well, to each his own I guess. I’ll probably be that way eventually. I used to dust twice a week (pre-kids), then once a week, and now it’s once a month, if I’m lucky.


  9. We just reorganized PinkGirl’s room this weekend! Check out the photos in the post “from pink to pinkalicious”

    The answer to which box it goes in varied with my kids. FavoriteSon and PinkGirl think and organize very differently. For me, if I want the kid to take ownership of the organization, they have to make those decisions. I help do the work, but I let them decide.

  10. Alyson Says:

    Will definitely check it out.

    Unfortunately, their room is already getting disorganized.


Leave a Reply

