What You Get For The Money

July 2, 2008

With my recent 30 pound weight loss, I’ve got, in a sense, a new body, which is a very good thing.  (Although J is a bit discouraged by my shrinking boobies). 

I am currently at the point that I need new clothes, pants espically.  Size 22 is no longer an option if I wish to keep my bottoms on, which I do.  I am not in a position financially, where I can just go out and purchase a new wardrobe, and even if I had the money, I don’t know that I would want to buy clothes that (hopefully) won’t fit in a couple of months. 

I’ve already been down that road.  The new pants that I spent $17 on less than 2 months ago are already in a pile to be given away due to the fact that they’re too big.  Quite a waste of money, espically for me.  Therefore, yesterday I hit up the local Goodwill.  I know, used clothing yuck……cooties………blah blah blah.  Before you judge, check out what I got:

3 pairs of dress pants, and 2 nice shrits.  The pants are all in nearly new condition, complete with dry clean tags courtsey of the previous owner.  The white shirt is a ribbed sweater, which still had tags on it.  The picture doesn’t do it justice.  The orange shirt was barely used.  There were tons more dress pants in my current size, but I obstained from going too crazy.  

The grand total for my loot?  Under $15, plus laundry detergent to wash out the cooties.  At that price, I can afford to get a whole new wardrobe for every size!

 

 

7 Responses to “What You Get For The Money”


  1. The goodwill is perfect for this…especially if you are still shrinking.

    I went in the opposite direction. I got rid of all of my small pants, then decided to lose 20 pounds. Pants are gone…now I look like a clown.

  2. liz Says:

    Alyson, e-mail me your pant size. My sister-in-law gave me a bunch of pants because she lost weight, maybe some might be your size. 🙂

  3. Alyson Says:

    @ electrician: I think so too!

    Congrats on your weight loss! I guess you could go buy all your old pants back.

    @ Liz: Will do. Thanks!

  4. Red Says:

    Hell yes. Goodwill is the shit.
    Just wash it and go with your bad self!!!
    Congrats on the weight loss, too.

  5. Alyson Says:

    Yeah. I heart Goodwill. I’ve never been able to find much in the plus size section, but when I do, it’s always a steal. In fact, the clothes I get the most compliments on are the ones I get at thrift stores.

  6. bluesuit12 Says:

    I don’t think anything is wrong with getting clothes at Goodwill. You can almost always find something and actually depending on where you live, some Goodwills are pretty fancy. I live in a big college town and the best time to hit up the Goodwill is at the end of the school year b/c all the students drop off all their stuff they don’t want to take back home. Not only clothes but some really cool furniture as well. Congrads on the weight loss, that’s awesome!!

  7. alyson Says:

    Ours is a new one, and it is very nice. I actually was going to buy some gently used Ralph Lauren khaki’s, but they had a small, miniscule actually, stain on the rear.

    Great info about the college town. I live near one, but it doesn’t have a Goodwill yet. I know someone that worked for an apartment complex, and alot of the foreign students would sell him cars for like $200 because they didn’t want to take it home.


Leave a Reply

