Say What You Need To Say…….(provided you are a senior citizen)

June 24, 2008

“Well Steve, I hardly recognized you you’ve gotten so fat.” said the classy-looking, 60-ish woman standing near the casket.  

“Damn lady, he just lost his dad, cut him some slack”, I thought.  Steve is my father, and the woman’s sharp words came at my grandpa’s (his father’s) wake, nearly 7 years ago. 

Since that incident, I have experienced many incidents of what I’ve come to refer to as, elderly word vomit, usually by my grandparents, and usually at my expense.  Nearly every time I am in their presence, I have to bite my tounge to keep from saying sarcastically, “Yes, I have a weight problem, yes I am aware, I have a mirror, and a scale, but if I ever find myself without either one of them, I’m glad you’re here to let me know.”

I’ve heard stories about other people’s grandparents, and other elderly relatives, making similar comments to them.  Their stories, as well as my own experiences, has led me to ponder:  at what age does it become approporiate to say whatever crosses your mind, completely disregarding everyone else’s feelings?   

Maybe they need to make Depends to control diarreha of the mouth.

 

4 Responses to “Say What You Need To Say…….(provided you are a senior citizen)”

  1. Red Says:

    ehhehehee, diarhea of the mouth. Yuck, bad mental pic.
    I get that too, but then I think, “it’s an old man/lady, they can say what they want.”
    But hearing about weight gain all the freaking time does get old. And i just tell myself, “she’s 87, let her talk.”

  2. bluesuit12 Says:

    Sometimes I’m envious at elderly people b/c they can get away with saying anything. A few years ago I was talking with a girl my age and a lady in her late 60s maybe early 70s. Anyway, it was kind of a conservative setting and we were talking about hygiene (the older lady was a nurse and we were all living in a third world country) and I can’t remember exactly what she said but the next thing I knew she had used the words pussy and tits in the same sentence as casually as I would say I had yogurt for breakfast. LOL!! The other girl and I had this WHAT??? expression on our faces. To this day it still cracks me up.


  3. Most of the time, I can let stuff like that pass and it’s enough that I give them a piece of my mind – IN my mind.

    Sometimes, the diffusing question begs to be asked, especially to those who supposedly love you:

    “Was it your intention to hurt my feelings?”

  4. Alyson Says:

    @ red: Glad to hear this is a widespread phenomenon. I do the same thing with my granny. The woman at the funeral was a mere aquaintance of my dad’s, so it really struck me.

    @ bluesuit: GREAT story. I laughed so hard. It reminded me of something similar that my grandma said when her Alzheimer’s got really bad, that I had all but forgotten. I’ll have to write a post about it.

    @ Julie: That’s what I do also. Well that and vent about it on the world wide web. LOL.


Leave a Reply

