Losing Myself

June 24, 2008

As a mother, you resign yourself to becoming forever known as (insert your child’s name here)’s mom to their peers.  Most of the kids at chruch call me Steven and Carson’s mom.  Several of them have no idea that I have a name. 

I’ve grown quite acustomed to being, “Steven’s mom” to all the kiddos.

Last night at the kiddos t-ball game, their coach, a man I have attended church with for the last 3 years, said this:

“Last week I thought I saw you at your job.  I didn’t know what you did for a living, but I was driving down the road and I was like, “that looks like Steven’s mom”, so I called my wife and said, “what’s Steven’s mom do?”, so she told me and I figured out it was you.”

Twice in the same story I was referred to as, “Steven’s mom”, by one of my peers.  Is it not enough that I lose my identity with the youngsters?

8 Responses to “Losing Myself”

  1. maleesha Says:

    Sometimes women experience a double whammy in this department. Occasionally I will be “AJ’s mom” as well as “Jesse’s wife.” I identify with the “Losing Myself” title, as I think most moms do at one point or another. I guess this is another reason why I often fantasize about changing my name and running off to Thailand. Ahh, well.

  2. Red Says:

    Gosh, aint that the truth.
    Sam isnt’ hard to remember.


  3. As a T-ball (and just about every other damned sport)coach, I use Mr. or Mrs. Whatevertheir lastname is. It is embarrassing to get a name wrong and it is much easier to remember a family name that the first names of 14 kids and both their parents. The church is a different story altogether.

  4. Paul B. Says:

    Wait a minute….. you have a real name???


  5. As long as “PinkGirl’s Mom” doesn’t have to bring cupcakes somewhere at the last minute or be room mom, I’m enjoying the anonymity while it lasts.

  6. Alyson Says:

    @ maleesha: I so understand. I’d like to join you on that island. Thanks for commenting.

    @ Red: Exactly! What’s wrong with people. I know his name. Maybe I’ll start calling him Coach Michelle’s Dad.

    @ electrician: That’s a good rule to go by, espically since their last names are right there on the back of the shirts.

    @ Paul: Apparently not anymore, I must’ve lost it with the eldest’s placenta.

    @ Julie: Good point. I should try to see the good in everything!


  7. My little ones are still little ones!

    But, I’m guessing this is what I have to look forward to! 🙂

  8. Alyson Says:

    Oh yes. Be prepared.


Leave a Reply

