You Can’t Always Get What You Want

June 20, 2008

Sunday mornings are hectic around our house.  Since it’s usually my only day off, I sleep in until the last minute, then am extremley rushed to get everyone and everything ready for church. 

Recently, my oldest was taking a bath, whilst I was standing in the bathroom getting ready.  I asked him to wash himself, to save time. 

Him:  “You wash me.”

Me:  “No, you wash yourself today.”

Him:  “I don’t want to.”

Me:  “Well son, sometimes we have to do things we don’t want to do.  It’s a fact of life.  Even grown-ups sometimes have to do things they don’t want to do.”

Him:  “Exactly, you don’t want to wash me, but you’re going to have to, because I’m not doing it.”

Sometimes he’s just too smart. 

And yes, I did wash him.

7 Responses to “You Can’t Always Get What You Want”


  1. This is where the mouth “accidently” gets “washed out” too.

  2. Alyson Says:

    LOL. I didn’t think of that at the time.

  3. jenefur Says:

    Wow… how old is that kid?

  4. Alyson Says:

    5, and a half.

  5. Red Says:

    hehhee! Smart one you got there.

  6. bluesuit12 Says:

    HAHA!! That’s pretty funny and quick witted!

  7. Alyson Says:

    @ Red: Thanks. He gets it from me. LOL.

    @ bluesuit: I know. It’s kinda scary sometimes.


Leave a Reply

