Do They Make Platform Shoes For Toddlers?

June 10, 2008

Because J and I both haven’t been at our jobs long enough to earn any real vacation time yet, we have decided to use a small part of our economic stimulus check to take a weekend mini-vacation to Holiday World later this month.  In researching our trip, I discovered that they have many of the same type of rides as my beloved, now-defunct, Opryland, and I am thrilled that I will be able to share this with my children. 

Our youngest is 2, he will be 3 in August, and is small for his age, so I mentally prepared myself to be okay with spending $40 to get myself in the door so that I could spend the day watching him frolic at Rudolph’s Reindeer Ranch.  I know that as a parent you have to do those kind of things, but I want to have some fun too! 

Perusing the Holiday World website, I discovered that, to ride most of the family-oriented rides, a child has to be 36″ tall.  I brought out the trusty yardstick to see how my little one would measure up, and here are the results:

(picutre a toddler boy, blonde wavy hair, brown eyes, standing behind a yardstick, which comes up to the top of his head, grinning.  I tried 3 times to insert said picture, and I failed to do so, 3 times.  I’m giving up)

36.5″ tall, in his bare feet!  Hallelujah!  Looks like we won’t be needing those platform shoes afterall. 

 

6 Responses to “Do They Make Platform Shoes For Toddlers?”

  1. Red Says:

    yayyyy! holiday world is a ton o’ fun. and it’s not that far. maybe 1.5 hours from here. and i’m like 1 hour from you, soooo it’s a trip that can be made in a day.
    hope yall have a great time!! and take advantage of that free pop!

  2. Alyson Says:

    We’ve never been, and have always wanted to. I’m glad he’ll be able to ride some of the rides with us. We’re going to spend the night, and go to the park for 2 days.

    The free pop was the big draw for us. We’re taking all 4 kids, so that’ll save us tons of money.

  3. bluesuit12 Says:

    Sounds like fun! Hope you have a great time.

  4. Alyson Says:

    Thanks! I’m sure we will.

  5. Allison Says:

    Have fun! Free Pepsis and free sunscreen (or at least it used to be). Things I remember liking about Holiday World FKA Santa Claus Land:

    *The air-conditioned candy or toy stores when you can’t take the heat anymore.
    *The flying birds. I always wanted to get in the rainbow colored one.
    *The nursery rhyme train ride (even when I was way too old for it).
    *The log ride. I don’t know if the water is still colored aqua blue, but it used to be and it had a very distinctive smell. Also, there was a ton of gum stuck to the wall of the tunnel.
    *The scramber, thought I don’t think I could ride that anymore without hurling. I could never ride the Octopus as hurling was certain.
    *I love everything about the water park, though that wasn’t there when I was a kid.

    Looking forward to hearing about the trip!

  6. Alyson Says:

    They still have free drinks, sunscreen, and parking. The rides all look like so much fun.

    I always loved the log ride at Opryland, so I’m really looking forward to it.


Leave a Reply

