One For The Record Books

June 9, 2008

So, I”ve lost about 25 pounds courtsey of the new job, which has allowed me to do some things I have never done, or haven’t done in a long time.  First, I have some clothes in a pile for Goodwill, which is not unusual, however, instead of these clothes being donated due to being too small, I’m giving away clothes that are too big.  I’ve never done that before. 

Secondly, I am wearing t-shirts with only 1 X in front of the L.  I also no longer own, “skinny jeans”, because I can wear my former skinnies. 

My proudest moment came last week in Wal-Mart, when I tried on a pair of shorts in the regular women’s section, and glory be, they fit.  Sure they’re a size 18, the biggest size in the women’s section, but they weren’t in the plus sized section.  I can’t remember the last time I shopped out of the plus section.  It had to be at least 5 years ago.  I’m estatic. 

9 Responses to “One For The Record Books”


  1. That is super news. I am sure you are feeling good about yourself too…inside and out!

  2. bluesuit12 Says:

    Yeah for you!!! This is some most awsome news and I’m very happy for you!!!

  3. Alyson Says:

    @ electrician: I sure am. It’s great.

    @ bluesuit: Thanks so much.

  4. Wendy Says:

    Wow, 25 pounds! Good for you! I’ve always thought having a job where you walk all day would be great for weight loss. I know you have bad weather, body bags, etc. to deal with but the weight loss makes it worth it. Are you still walking with your mom in the morning before work?

  5. Alyson Says:

    It has been so far! The weather around here isn’t really that bad, so I’m fortunate in that aspect.

    I gave up the morning walks when I got the new job. Unfortunately, she did too.

    LOL at the body bag comment.

  6. Red Says:

    that is wonderful, alyson!!!
    now ya just gotta get me motorvated to fit my booty into a 18!

  7. Alyson Says:

    Thanks!

    I know you can do it too! I think you have actually lost more poundage than I have.


  8. How WONDERFUL! Good for you!!!


Leave a Reply

