My Unusual Jovi Date

April 23, 2008

I have a date for tomorrow night, and it’s not my mother.

In my quest to give away my extra ticket, and find a partner for tomorrow night’s show, I called my cousin, who lives in the Nashville area, to see if she would be interested in tagging along.  She is a few years older than me, and I remember her having an affinity for the guys back in the big hair days. 

She told me that her oldest son, age 10,  had been asking them if they would take him to see Bon Jovi.   She asked him what his favorite song was, and he belted out “Wanted Dead Or Alive”.  When I told her Daughtry was opening, and she relayed the message to her son, I heard him scream in the background.  I knew that if she went with me, he would be extremley jealous.

A few phone calls later, she declined the invitation due to the inability to make other arrangements for her youngest sons school function.  She added a message from the 10 year old, saying that he, “had $100, and he would pay for his own ticket if I would take him.”  She also said that he plays a Bon Jovi CD every night when he goes to bed. 

I began thinking of myself at age 11, attending my first Jovi show, chaperoned by my mom’s best friend.  I thought, “what the hell, why not pay it forward.”  I called her back, told her to tell the kid to bring his benji, but not for the ticket, that’s on me.  The tee shirts, however, are not.   

Mom’s still going to tag along for the ride, and go to the school function with my kids and my cousin, while I’m rocking out with my 10 year old cousin.

Do I smell a convert?  I certainly hope so, because in another few years I’ll need me a young whippersnapper to drive me to the shows. 

 

9 Responses to “My Unusual Jovi Date”


  1. Your young convert will probably end up kicking you to the curb because you are too old. But at least YOU did a good thing!

  2. Brian Says:

    Aw! I think it’s so sweet that you are doing that for the kiddo. He will have so much fun and you will, too.

    Ya’ll be real careful like going to the big city an’ all, ya hear? 😉

  3. Alyson Says:

    @ electrician: LOL. Hopefully not. I’m such a nervous country girl by nature that I have already instructed him that he is to stay by my side all the time, unless he has to pee.

    @ Brian: Thanks! I’m really looking forward to it.

    I’ll take pics of Al Gore for you and Alan, you know he’ll be there.

  4. Red Says:

    That’s awesome, Alyson!
    Im sure you guys will have a great time!!!!

  5. simplypink Says:

    It’s great that you’re taking a young Jovi. You’re definitely going to make a memory! 😉 I can’t wait to hear all about it. Take in everything and report back. I’ll be happy to hear ALL the details. I was in mourning on the day of the show I missed. Have fun!!! (Which I know you will!)

  6. bluesuit12 Says:

    I’m so incredibly jealous! What a lucky kid to have you willing to take him and hang with him all night. Have a great time and be sure to be on the look out for good blog sighting material!

  7. Jenny Says:

    Oh my GOD I’m jealous! I’ve always loved BonJovi. How is it that he gets better looking as time goes on?

  8. cowgalutah Says:

    you rock! I wish I would have had someone like you to take me to my first concert.

  9. Alyson Says:

    @ Red: We did. More to come.

    @ pink: Love the reference, and we definitely did. I’ll give a full report later.

    @ bluesuit: We did have a great time, although the little turd actually said that he liked Daughtry better! I saw LOTS of good blog material. I’ll post a report with pics as soon as I recover.

    @ Jenny: It really is amazing how Jon gets cuter.

    @ cowgal: Thanks!


Leave a Reply

