Playing Favorites

April 3, 2008

* Bear with me folks, one more grandma post and maybe I’ll be done*

I can distinctly remember my grandma telling me, on more than one occasion, “don’t tell the other’s, but you’re my favorite.” 

I was a good child, so as much as I wanted to gloat in the faces of my sister and cousin, I didn’t tell, because grandma told me not to.  On one occasion, she backed up her declaration, adding that I was her favorite because I was the quietest of the three grandkids, and when I was over, she didn’t have to worry about me getting into anything, or disturbing her peaceful household. 

For years she proclaimed me her favorite, in the strictest of confidence, and for years I happily accepted her praise, and did as I was told, thrilled to know that I was grandma’s favorite, even if I couldn’t tell the other’s. 

I was in my 20’s and my grandma’s Alzheimer’s was getting really bad when my world came crashing down one evening at a family function.  My sister dropped a bomb, by saying, “I’m grandma’s favorite, she used to tell me all the time and told me not to tell you guys”.  Fuel was added to the fire when my cousin said, “she used to tell me the same thing”.  I confessed that grandma used to tell me the same thing, and we all realized that we had been hoodwinked for years.  Of course, I shared grandma’s reasoning behind my rightful place as favorite, and asked if she ever gave them reasons solidifing their status as #1 grandaughter.  Neither of them had any backup data, but they both assured me that the fact that I did, did not mean I was the favorite. 

In my heart, I knew I was the favorite, but I needed more proof.  One day, while taking care of grandma in her home, I asked, “Grandma, am I still your favorite?”.  Most days, Grandma didn’t know me from the man in the moon, and that day was no different.  She didn’t know who she was, or where she lived alot of the time, but I know in my heart that it was a rare moment of lucidity when she replied, “Yes, you are.”

So, little sis and big cousin, if you’re reading this, Nah nah na boo boo.

5 Responses to “Playing Favorites”


  1. I am CONSTANTLY telling my kids they are my “favorite son” and “favorite daughter.” To which they reply, ‘MAH OHM, I’m your ONLY son/daughter.”

  2. Alyson Says:

    LOL. You can really get away with it when you have one of each.

  3. Jen Says:

    She sounds like she knew what she was doing. LOL.
    I’ll bet you really were her favorite.

  4. Alyson Says:

    I’m sure she did. Actually, another woman, who is a grandma herself, told me that I probably was the favorite, since she gave me reasons.

    Thanks for commenting.

  5. Brian Says:

    You are hilarious. 🙂


Leave a Reply

