She’s Gone

March 31, 2008

My Grandma passed away early this morning.  Explaining to my oldest that grandma is in heaven now has resulted in many of the sweetest questions.  My favorite is this:

“What does God do when he runs out of milk in heaven?  Does he have a store?

11 Responses to “She’s Gone”


  1. Oh, Alyson, I’m so sorry. I know you were expecting it, but from all the wonderful things you’ve written about your grandma, it still has to hurt.

    I hope you told your son yes, and that his great-grandma’s probably buying a bottle of two percent right now. Of course, there’s probably only chocolate milk in heaven…

    Take care.

  2. masteroftheuniverse Says:

    Tou’re so lucky that it was that easy. My lovely wife died a couple of weeks ago, and my son and I really don’t know what to do. He’s back ou at school, going through the motions of life, and I’m down here in Florida trying to do the same.

    My sympathies to you and yours.

    Jeff

  3. Brian Says:

    I’m really sorry about this. I know it’s been a long time coming, and you probably mourned her long ago, but these things are never easy.

    Your kids are a delight!

  4. Alyson Says:

    @ Moonbeam: Thank you so much. The chocolate milk thing made me laugh, espically because that’s the only kind my kids will drink. (I did tell him yes, too).

    @ Jeff: Wow. I’m so sorry for your loss. Mine was expected, and my grandma had lived a full, long life. I can’t imagine what it must be like to lose a spouse and mother. I will keep you guys in my prayers.

    @ Brian: Thank you so much. You’re right on all accounts.

  5. bluesuit12 Says:

    Alyson I’m so sorry to hear this. Even when it’s expected it’s still sad and a tremendous loss. I’ll be thinking of you and your family.

  6. Alyson Says:

    Thanks so much. We really appreciate it.

  7. Red Says:

    Aw, Alyson… It’s not an easy task, and them kids will come up with some dooozies for questions! They’re so honest and innocent. Gotta love ’em.
    Again, Im so sorry to hear of your Granny 😦

  8. Alyson Says:

    We can definitley learn alot from the little ones.

    Thanks!

  9. leky Says:

    Its never easy to explain when someone has passed to children. I remember telling my eldest son his grandad had passed away when my son was three. He said thats ok mum I will see grandad when i go to his house. I just wished that was the case that we could just pop to wherever and see our loved ones and be with them again. I am so sorry for you loss.

  10. Alyson Says:

    Thank you so much. My kids have taken it pretty well, although it has raised alot of questions about heaven.


  11. […] While scrolling my blog for instances of being whingy or posts about crap food I discovered some gems, some turds, and other things that I had long ago forgotten about.  I’m going to start […]


Leave a Reply

