My Absenteeism

March 29, 2008

There are a multitude of reasons/excuses for my sporadic posting as of late.  I feel I owe you, my readers, an explanation, you know, like when you missed school and you had to bring a note from your parents explaining why you were absent. 

Reason #1:  My grandma is dying.  Yeah, she’s been dying for a year now, but this time it’s for real (I think).  Every time the phone rings I am filled with both relief and dread, thinking it’s “the call”.  Honestly, it doesn’t hurt so much, because she’s been dying a slow death from Alzheimer’s for the last decade.  For the past couple of years she’s been a shell of a person, alive only in body.  Her mind and soul died years ago, but still, the inevitable is taking alot out of me.

Reason #2:  New job is killin’ me.  Laugh all you want, but I’ve worked 4 days straight, and chubbs here ain’t used to exerting that much physical labor.  After sitting behind a desk for the last 11 years, doing next to nothing, it’s taking a toll on me.  The last 2 days have been served in another office in a place I like to call, Hilltown, so nicknamed because of it’s mountainous terrain.  It’s been brutal.  When I get home I don’t feel like cooking, cleaning, or being a mommy, much less blogging. 

Reason #3:  My baby (the oldest) is registering for Kindergarten Monday.  Not much of a reason or an excuse, just something that’s been bothering me, as I am not going to be able to take him to registration due to work.   It really saddens me that I’m going to have to miss it, but I didn’t feel right about asking off this early in my tenure.

So, there you have it.  I’m just plain worn out from life.  Good thing I have this to look forward to soon. 

4 Responses to “My Absenteeism”

  1. Red Says:

    it’ll get better, alyson. work will get better.. you’ll get used to the physical work and it’ll be like nothing before you know it.
    i’m sure it’s hard that you cant be there for your boy’s registration. that’s a big step in his life, but maybe you’ll be able to take him to the first day…?
    i hate to read about your grandma .. i’ll keep yall in my thoughts and prayers.

  2. Alyson Says:

    Thanks. Work is already getting better.

    I think they have a back to school night now, rather than all the hoopla on the first day, so I’ll definitley going to be able to go then.

    Thanks for the thoughts and prayers. I just got “the call” a few minutes ago from my dad.


  3. I’m just catching up on your posts. I’m so sorry about your grandma, but I understand the “relief and dread” part.

    The work/walking will get easier. Your muscles will get stronger, your body fat percentage will drop and the most wonderful thing about it? Muscle burns more calories at rest than fat. And that’s what I like – burning calories “at rest.”

  4. Alyson Says:

    Thanks so much. It’s already getting easier!


Leave a Reply

