Every Mom’s Dream

March 28, 2008

My youngest, age 2.5, recently had some sort of stomach virus.  He is very small for his age, so after the vomiting didn’t pass after a day, I decided to bite the bullet and take him to the doctor, where I obtained a perscription for phenergan (sp?) supposotories. 

I have had one experience trying to give the oldest supposotories (aka: butt bullets) when he was about the same age, and it wasn’t good.  Needless to say, I was dreading giving the youngest his “medicine” like one dreads a root canal. 

“I have to give you your medicine” I told him.

“Otay” he said, and held out his hand, eyes glued to the television where The Wiggles were doing their thing.

“This is a different kind, I have to put it up your butt.” I explained.

“Otay” he said.  Then, to my shock and amazement, he dropped his drawers and rolled over onto his tummy, where he took his medicine like a pro, uttering only one little “ouch”. 

Wow.

7 Responses to “Every Mom’s Dream”

  1. Alyson Says:

    Isn’t it? I was shocked, to say the least.

  2. Luke Says:

    I can relate (see my latest blog)! Amazing that he didn’t even question why.

  3. Red Says:

    heheh .. i had to giggle. just had to. it was like, whatever mom. just do it. let me watch my wiggles!
    i love phenegren. works wonders!
    hope the little man is feeling much better!

  4. Alyson Says:

    I know. He is feeling much better, it really did the trick.


  5. Hilarious! He was so glued to the TV, you probably could have told him you needed to superglue his fingers together and he would have said, “okay,” and held out his hand.

  6. Alyson Says:

    LOL. I don’t know if he was feeling so bad that he didn’t care what happened, or if he didn’t really understand what I meant, but I’m thrilled I didn’t have a fight on my hands.


Leave a Reply

