Score 1 For Me

March 24, 2008

Every year for Easter, each of J’s 3 sisters give my children an Easter basket filled with goodies, including a stuffed bunny.  That’s 6 stuffed bunnies that come home with me every year.  My kids are boys.  They rarely play with stuffed animals, and NEVER play with bunnies.  Also, they practically have a Toys R Us store in their room, and do not need any more toys, espically ones they aren’t remotely interested in playing with.  Unbeknownst to them, those bunnies move to a new home (Goodwill) every year before the last day of spring.

Therefore, earlier this year I made a speech to the collective sis-in-laws, explaining that the stuffed bunnies are multiplying like, well……. rabbits, and asked them to end this tradition, thus saving them money, and me trips to Goodwill. 

I am proud to report that we exited the festivities yesterday stuffed bunny free.

Now if I could only get them to put the kid’s booty in reusable gift bags rather than baskets, because after each kid emerging with 3 extra baskets/buckets every year, Easter baskets are multiplying like……….. rabbits. 

9 Responses to “Score 1 For Me”

  1. Jenny Says:

    Wow! And the sis-in-laws didn’t take this the wrong way?? You’re lucky! Perhaps, maybe a week before Easter, you could give those baskets back to your inlaws for filling.

  2. Red Says:

    Yay for you!
    And yes, baskets are big and bulky and they never seem to get reused.

  3. Alyson Says:

    @ Jenny: They seemed to understand, but they probably verbally blasted me when I left the room.
    I have thought about giving them the baskets back, but they all live at least an hour away, and I usually don’t see them alot between Christmas and Easter.

    @ Red: I know. If I didn’t get rid of some of them, my closets would really be overflowing with junk. At least I could re-use a gift bag. I haven’t bought a new gift bag in at least 10 years.

  4. Allison Says:

    “..multiplying like, well….rabbits…”

    Very funny!

  5. Alyson Says:

    Thanks. It was quite fitting.

  6. Luke Says:

    Sounds like you need a really big Easter (waste)basket to put everything in.

  7. Alyson Says:

    LOL. Very true. I should take the candy straight to the wastebasket, rather than straight to my thighs.

  8. Brian Says:

    I really hope that none of your in-laws ever find this blog, or you’ll be pulling stuffed bunnies and Easter baskets out of… well, you know. 😀

  9. Alyson Says:

    Oh, I know. I never mention my blog in their presence. EVER.


Leave a Reply

