5 Year Old Say What……….

February 20, 2008

My son enjoys my new MP3 player almost as much as I do, and he will often ask to listen to it.  He is espically fond of the Hannah Montana song, and the next track, “Please Don’t Stop The Music.”

Recently, I was driving and he was listening to it, when he started telling me about the “Suicidal” song that was on.  I racked my brain trying to figure out what on earth he was talking about, and quite honestly, I was shocked to hear such a negative word coming from the mouth of my baby.  I prodded him, trying to find out what he was listening to, and asking him if he had ever heard anyone talking about suicide.  

I made him skip the song, pondered the incident for a few more minutes, then put the event out of my mind entirely.

Saturday evening I listened to his 2 favorite tracks (don’t judge me, Hannah Montana is catchy),  and immediately after my baby’s fave’s Sean Kingston’s, “Beautiful Girls” played.  I was groovin along, then it hit me…….”you’ve got me suicidal……….suicidal………………suicidal”. 

It’s amazing how you see things differently when you have children.

5 Responses to “5 Year Old Say What……….”

  1. Red Says:

    They pick up on EVERYTHING.

  2. Allison Says:

    Funny you should mention that. Everytime that song comes on at work, my officemate says, “Ugh, why does he have to say the suicidal thing?”

  3. Alyson Says:

    @ Red: They sure do. It’s amazing.

    @ Allison: I had never really thought alot about it until now. It is kinda silly though.

  4. Brian Says:

    😆

    I never thought that your kids might be listening to the mp3 player. I do love that song, though, and I remember the first time I heard it. I was totally convinced it was a black woman singing!

  5. Alyson Says:

    Yeah. Apparently it’s part of thier master plan to forbid mommy from having anything that is my own.

    LOL @ the black woman comment. The first time I heard Hanson I thought it was girls, when I found out it was boys, I just knew they were black. I was way off on that one.


Leave a Reply

