My Last Day

February 13, 2008

Today is my last day at current job, and as you can see, I am spending it slacking off, as usual.  Sometimes I wonder why these people are sad to see me go.  If I were them, I’d have fired me long ago. 

I planned to write a long winded post about my (current) job, how I got it, why I stayed with it, etc., but I just don’t have the energy.  There is another hypothetical post, that keeps filling my head, demanding to be typed, which is sucking the lifeblood out of all of my creative forces.  Maybe I’ll type it Monday, when I have unprecidented day off, as the post office is closed.  So, in the place of the hypothetical long winded current job post, I give you the following top 10 lists.

TOP 10 THINGS I’LL MISS ABOUT CURRENT JOB

  1. My co-workers.  We’re a small business, and most of us have been here for 5 years or more.  Yeah, I’ll miss em.
  2. My complimentary Sam’s Club membership. 
  3. Unlimited copier use.
  4. The DSL connection.
  5. Down time, which I use to play computer games, prepare my Sunday School lessons, read, balance my checkbook, etc.
  6. The customer’s.
  7. The goodie’s my boss brings in.
  8. The relaxed atmosphere.
  9. Not having to punch a time clock.
  10. The year-end bonus.

TOP 10 THINGS I WILL NOT MISS ABOUT CURRENT JOB

  1. Certain obnoxious customer’s.
  2. My boss’ winter blah’s, which cause major moodiness.
  3. The family drama, I often find myself in the midst of.
  4. The downtime. (a double edged sword) I don’t like being bored.
  5. The lack of health insurance.
  6. The lack of vacation time.
  7. The lack of sick leave. 
  8. Working primarily with redneck men, who have the maturity level of 3rd graders.
  9. Answering phones.
  10. The goodies my current boss brings in.  (I know, this is another double edged sword, because I eat too many of them, if I don’t have them, I can’t eat them)
10 Responses to “My Last Day”


  1. Okay. I assume you are off work now. Ahhhhhh.

    Feel good?

  2. Brian Says:

    Congratulations on your new adventure! I hope it’s everything that you dreamed it would be and more. You might miss certain things about your previous job, but there are going to be things that you like much better about the new one.

    Have a great day tomorrow!!

  3. Alyson Says:

    @ Julie: Bittersweet. It’s been 11 years since I endured a job change. I should really get to bed.

    @ Brian: Thanks for the well wishes. I know it’s for the best.


  4. Hope it went well! Are you getting excited about Monday?

  5. Alyson Says:

    My orientation started today, it was good. I’m ready to get started.

    I’m psyched to have a “nothing” day Monday, (even though I will have the boys).

  6. bimaconcept Says:

    Nice posting, i like that’s.
    Well, nice to meet you here
    Happy valentine’s day to you
    regards 🙂

  7. Alyssa Says:

    Good luck in your next endeavor!!

    The no health insurance thing is huge….. You definitely need a job that offers some kind of insurance =/

  8. Alyson Says:

    @ bima: Glad you stopped by, thanks for commenting. I hope you had a great V-Day.

    @ Alyssa: Thanks. No insurance is definitely a bummer.

  9. Lumpy Says:

    Great list. Work, can’t live with it – and hard to live without it $$$ $$$. Funny post and so true. Good luck. I just surfed on via Red’s site and I’m gonna have a look around 🙂

  10. Alyson Says:

    Thanks so much. I love Red’s blog.


Leave a Reply

