Hearts & Roses????

January 31, 2008

Last weekend, while driving and listening to our local classic rock station, Guns & Roses’, “Sweet Child O’ Mine” came on. 

I was magically transported back to 5th grade, with memories of my friend Larua and I watching MTV and spending our weekends at the local skating rink flashing through my head.  Good Times.

Towards the end of the song the hubby comes up with this gem:  “You know, most people think that’s a guy singing that song”. 

I was dumbfounded.  “What??  You mean Axl Rose isn’t a guy?” I asked.

“That’s not Axl Rose, that’s Heart” he replied.

“Uh……..No.  GNR, buddy”.  I informed him.

“Heart” he said with determination. 

“No dear, GNR, “Appetite for Destruction”.  I have the album (on vinyl) at home.  I’ll prove it when we get home.”

He should know it’s pointless to argue this with me, as I was an MTV-lovin’, Metal Edge subscribin’ hair band obsessed, pre-teen during that era, and he was already an old married guy.   I guess he’ll never learn.

“I guess it is,” he finally relented, but quickly added, “I’ve heard Heart sing it too.”

I think he is thinking of Sheryl Crow, but I don’t think I’ll ever convince him.   

16 Responses to “Hearts & Roses????”

  1. sertop Says:

    Gotta be Axl, he wouldn’t let anyone else sing it. Anyway, isn’t crazy how you’ll be listening to music and all of a sudden you’ll remember everything from that time of your life. Truly a phemomenom.

    SerTop
    http://www.sertopbands.com

  2. Red Says:

    aaaaaahahhahahaa! I dont think Heart ever did that song either. Or Sheryl Crow. Or the BeeGees. It’s Axl and only Axl.
    Oooh, I gotta break out the GnR.

  3. Alyson Says:

    @ sertop: It really is. Music is so amazing that way.

    @ Red: I knew you’d understand. I think Sheryl Crow remade it, and I think it’s in the closing credits of “Big Daddy”. I could be wrong on that though. However, in my heart, it’s all Axl.

  4. Allison Says:

    Wow, even I knew that has GNR. I bet you were dying inside. It would be like if somebody tried to tell me that Kenny Chesney was the guy singing “I’ve Got Friends in Low Places.”

  5. Alyson Says:

    LOL. I’m wrong about a lot of things, but rarely hair bands.

  6. Kris Says:

    LOVE that song. GNR baby!!!!

  7. Alyson Says:

    Me too. I love everything from that era.

  8. indianamatt Says:

    How about “Your Love” by the Outfield. Or “Shake Me” by Cinderella? Or “Still Loving You” by the Scorpions? The 80s rock.

  9. indianamatt Says:

    Speaking of the Scorpions, my wife frequently asks, “Is this the ‘Gorky Park’ people?” when a song of theirs, or someone who remotely sounds like them comes on our random play at home (Gorky Park being part of the lyric to “Wind of Change.”)
    Anyone remember “Touch Me” by Samantha Fox? It was big for awhile. Sure, I was drooling over her as a teen, but that song pretty much sucked.

  10. Alyson Says:

    I LOVED Cinderella.

    Gorky Park. LOL. I hadn’t thought of them in forever.

    I loved the Samantha Fox song too.

    Thanks for the trip down memory lane.

  11. Wendy Says:

    I don’t your husband but as soon as I read “Most people think it’s a guy …” I thought to myself, he did not just say that.

    And Sheryl Crow did a cover of it, I have it. You can listen to it at projectplaylist.com. Or better yet, play it for him!

  12. Alyson Says:

    LOL. I sat there for a minute after he said it thinking, Did he just say what I think he did?

    I thought it was her. I liked her version too, although the original holds a special place in my memories.

  13. talea Says:

    I know nothing about bands, songs and who sang what. But I think it’s common knowledge that GNR sang ‘Sweet Child O’ Mine’. Just like how everyone knows that Santa wears a red and white suit. It’s just burnt into your memory!

  14. Alyson Says:

    LOL. I think I finally have him convinced!


  15. See, these conversations with the husband now result in an IMMEDIATE Blackberry internet search. We’re geeks that way. Competitive, impatient geeks with company paid Blackberry internet time.

  16. Alyson Says:

    LOL. I would be the same way if I had one.


Leave a Reply

