Don’t Worry

January 20, 2008

Yesterday, when I got the letter informing me of my new job, there was a part of me that wanted to throw the letter away and keep my life the same.  I hate change, and the positon I recieved is legally considered temporary.  It’s scary to walk away from something stable, for something that may not be permanent, although all of the applicants were assured that lack of hours is not a problem for the current employees in our position. 

I’ll blog more about my current job, and why it hurts so much to leave later, but I really want to share some words of wisdom my 5 year old son offered last night.  I was sitting in my recliner with tears streaming down my face as I thought about my impending goodbye’s.  He asked why I was crying, and I told him, “Mommy got a new job, and she’s scared and a little sad”.  He looked at me, with caring in his eyes, came over and put his arm around me and said, “Don’t worry mommy, they will teach you how to do your new job when you start.” 

Kids are so amazing, and some days, they teach me much more than I teach them. 

6 Responses to “Don’t Worry”

  1. randomyriad Says:

    Wow,he has great emotional awareness for a 5 year old. I work 8 months to get 4 year olds to just talk about their own feelings, and there he is talking about the way you feel. That is showing a lot of empathy for someone his age. You are doing something right.

  2. Alyson Says:

    Thank you so much. He is one of the most caring children I have ever had the pleasure to be around. To think that I helped make him that way blows my mind.

  3. indianamatt Says:

    Great story. 🙂 I’m sure it’s going to work out well.

  4. Alyson Says:

    Thanks! I think it’s going to.

  5. abarclay12 Says:

    Your 5 year-old is smart as hell. I like his wisdom.

  6. Alyson Says:

    Me too, although sometimes it scares me! Thanks for commenting.


Leave a Reply

