More Random Ramblings

January 17, 2008

NO SUGAR FOR THE OLD MAN:  Red reminded me over on her blog that I hadn’t said anything about the husband’s recovery.  It’s going very well.  His blood sugar is hovering around the 130 mark, but has been as low as 98.  I’m really proud of him for eating right better, and for learning to drink Diet Coke and tea sweetened with Splenda.  His birthday was Sunday, and it was different celebrating without his standard chocolate cream pie, but I pulled out an old recipe, substituted sugar-free ingredients for standard ones, and it was delicious, healthier, and a heck of a lot easier to make.  I’ll try to get the recipe up this week. 

 BILLS, BILLS, BILLS:  The night in the hospital sans health insurance is only going to set us back $450.  We were able to get a percentage taken off due to an income-based program the hospital has.  Not as bad as I thought, but still the most we’ve paid to stay anywhere for one night.  The ER trip, however, is another story.  That bill is over $1,500.  I still have to make arrangements on that one. 

MESS, MESS, MESS:  Those are the 3 words that best describe our house right now.  I have fallen behind on filing my paperwork, about 2 years behind as a matter of fact, and I am tackling project that at the moment, so everything else has gone to pot.  It’s bad.

A REAL FLAME(R)’:  I have agreed to direct our church’s VBS this year.  Every year there is a pre-determined theme, complete with a snarky puppet and accompaning script to keep the kids entertained.  This year’s theme is “Beach Party” and the puppet is “Flame’ the funny wayward flamingo“.  This is, quite possibly the gayest puppet ever.  It’s not enough that they picked a pink flamingo, a gay symbol in itself, but they had to name him, Flame’, and describe him as “wayward”, plus, we all know where the puppeteer has to stick their hand.  Maybe I’m reading too much into it, but I almost peed myself laughing at all the homosexual inuendo.    

SCARY SEARCHER:  The following search term appeared on my dashboard:  “I HATE YOU AND WANT YOU TO DIE AND BURN”.  I’m disturbed, and I hope the searcher did NOT find what they were looking for here.  

11 Responses to “More Random Ramblings”

  1. romi41 Says:

    I was laughing my ass off at the flamer references, and then when you reminded me where a puppeteer’s hand goes, oh man, that sealed it 😉

    PS: that’s so good that your husband’s gotten his blood sugar down; I don’t know the whole story, but my dad found out his was way too high, and he’s been on the splenda/no sugar/no sweets kick for 6 months now; it was tough at first but he’s doing really well; just have to make it a routine in everyday life, and good job on the sugar-free dessert 😉

  2. Red Says:

    hehhehahaaa! Flamer. The flamingo. But wouldn’t it be more of a gay reference if it was purple instead of pink? *shrugs*
    Im sooo glad to hear of the hubby’s progress. It is so incredibly hard to have to adjust one’s diet because of health.. Geez girl, too much alike. I have a few posts ready to publish dealing with that too!

  3. Alyson Says:

    @ romi: We’ve been laughing about Flame’ all week. My hubby went in the hospital right after Christmas with a blood sugar of over 600. He hasn’t had as much trouble adjusting as I thought he would.

    @ Red: I wonder if next year’s puppet will be a purple teletubbie? LOL. It’s been difficult adjusting, but not near as bad as I thought it would be. My dad found out he had it a couple of years ago, so we had already been making some progress.

  4. indianamatt Says:

    Weren’t there a couple of church groups out there who were very concerned about one of the teletubbies being gay? And now this!

  5. Alyson Says:

    Yeah, there was a big stink several years ago courtsey of Jerry Falwell about the purple one being feminine and toting a purse.

    I’m Methodist, so I don’t think there will be any ruffled feathers (pun intended) about Flame’ being the VBS spokes-bird.

  6. Brian Says:

    I pity him for having to drink tea with Splenda. I normally make mine with real sugar, but tried the fake stuff a few weeks ago. It had a strong chemical taste that I found disgusting and very unlike sugar. I’ve heard that Sweet-N-Low tastes better, but I’m sure it causes rectal cancer or internal bleeding.

  7. Alyson Says:

    He actually prefers the generic form of Splenda, to the real thing. He says the real Splenda has a nasty aftertaste, and the Wal-Mart and Kroger knockoff’s don’t.

  8. Allison Says:

    Ugh…your second item has the Destiny’s Child song going through my head.

    I hope you’re not voicing the flamingo…you might inadvertently say inappropriate innuendo things…and then laugh hysterically afterwards. Or is that what I would do?

  9. Alyson Says:

    LOL. I had forgotten about that song.

    I was thinking about the flamingo thing today, although I’m NOT going to be the puppeteer, I may be talking with flame’, and I’m afraid I will burst out laughing just thinking about all the inuendo.


  10. 2 years behind on filing paperwork? Just Say NO! Check out my post “don’t file paper at home anymore. part 1.”

  11. Alyson Says:

    Will do. I hate doing paperwork at home.


Leave a Reply

