Think Of A Happy Thought

January 14, 2008

I have an interview tomorrow for a potentially life-changing opportunity.  An opportunity that, if it pans out, would put an end to our health insurance and money woes.  If it doesn’t pan out, I’m okay with that too.  I’m not unhappy where I’m at, but this would be so much better for my family.     

It’s been a long time since I’ve been subjected to the hell that is an interview.  I’m prepaing as much as I can, emotionally, but I tend to get really nervous and go blank when I am under pressure.  I got myself physically prepared yesterday by going and purchasing a power suit and 3 pairs of new shoes.  I spent alot of money (for us anyways) on something that may or may not pay off.   However, if I get it, I can pay off the JC Penney’s charge card with less than 1 day’s wages.  Besides, I was told that new clothes and shoes make you feel more confident, and, being my own worst critic, I need all the help I can get.   

I’m hopeful, and scared because I know what’s riding on this interview, so if you get a chance tomorrow to send me some good vibes, I would really appreciate it.    

17 Responses to “Think Of A Happy Thought”

  1. Brian Says:

    I’m so excited about this! Don’t worry too much about it, because your wonderful personality is bound to shine through.

    Knock em dead, girl!! 😀

  2. Alyson Says:

    Thanks so much! I really appreciate it.


  3. Think of an interview as something enjoyable, exciting and fun! Let your personality shine through and stay at ease. Show em what you got, and , as brian said, knock ’em dead!

    YEW KEN DEW EET!!!!!!!


  4. Good luck! I’ll definitely be sending good vibes your way!

  5. Alyson Says:

    Thanks for the encouraging words. I really should think of it as an exciting opportunity rather than a nerve-racking experience.

    P.S. It took me a little while to channel my inner Rob Schnieder to get the last part. At first I thought, what the heck is that, pig latin?

  6. Alyson Says:

    Thanks so much moonbeam! I really appreciate it.


  7. If you do to go blank under pressure, put on a thoughtful facial expression, like you’re thinking before you answer. It can help you seem credible, not like you folded under pressure. Also, check out my post about a common interview situation. Maybe it will help. http://pragmaticcommunication.wordpress.com/2003/10/29/9/ We’ll add your prayer request to my daughter’s night time prayers 😉

  8. Alyson Says:

    Thanks. I will try to remember the tip, and will definitely check out the post.

  9. Alyson Says:

    I had read that post last week, WAY before this interview thing even came up, and have been working on some of those things. I suppose there was a reason for me coming accross that.

  10. romi41 Says:

    Oooh, a power-suit and new shoes will go a long way! 🙂

    I always find in interviews it’s great if you ask a couple of questions as well, because it demonstrates your interest and enthusiasm for the position.

    Good luck for tomorrow! 🙂

  11. cowgalutah Says:

    Oh I’ll be cheering for ya. My old man makes fun of me because I love interviews. I just chat away with anyone. Guess it was all the pageants my mom made me do…the interviews were way better than the swimsuit.

  12. yojoe Says:

    Are you moving to Chicago?

  13. Red Says:

    Oh Alyson, that is just great!! Im sending you tons o’ vibes that you’ll be just fine! I do wish you luck with the interview – noone deserves it more than you!!
    And yes, I hate interviews too.

  14. Alyson Says:

    @ Romi: Thanks for the tip. You’re on the right track, as I read the very same thing yesterday somewhere online.

    @ cowgal: Thanks for the cheers. I can talk to anyone also, but not in that setting. As for the swimsuits, I’m with ya. If I had to wear a swimsuit to get a job, I would be broke.

    @ yojoe: No way. I’m a country girl. Maybe you’re thinking of someone else.

    @ red: Thanks so much. I REALLY appreciate it.

  15. Allison Says:

    This is so weird. I had an interview yesterday, and Allison312 on my blogroll had an interview on Monday…this must be the week for Allisons/Alysons to interview!

    I have to agree about interviews being nerve-wrecking. I looked at my daughter’s baby pictures for inspiration right before the interview. I hope yours went well 🙂

  16. Alyson Says:

    That is weird. Maybe it’s a good sign!

    Mine went pretty well!


  17. […] you all so much for your happy thoughts on interview day.  You will never know how much your kindness means to me.  Posted in […]


Leave a Reply

