I’m Praying For You (and You, and You Too)

January 11, 2008

Ever since I began saying my son’s prayers for him every night, the list has grown, and grown, and grown.  It seems if he meets you once, and likes you, you get put on the prayer list.  The unfortunate thing for me is, he has a memory like a steel trap.  I try to be patient with him, but it’s difficult when I am tired and have so many things to do and he wants to pray for someone he sees once every 3 years, or everyone in our small chruch (individually) or even The Wiggles.

I had to intiate a system, in which I honor his requests for as long as I can, then I tell him to pick 4 more people to pray for before we say amen.  This worked for a while, and I would occasionally let a few extra slip in.  After all, you can’t pray for grandma and not grandpa, or one of his church friends and not all of them.  This system worked well for us for several months. 

 Apparently, praying for everyone he has ever crossed path with is tiring the little fellow out.  The past few nights when I have started out with the traditional “God bless mommy and daddy……..” I have been interupted by a request from my kiddo.  “Just pray for everyone on the whole planet, that’ll get everyone” he says.

Our new bedtime prayer is something like this:  “Dear God, please watch over everyone on the whole planet, keep us all safe and healthy and bless us.  Amen”.   It’s not personal, and I know I’m not teaching him the “right” way to pray, but I’m relieved to have gained 1/2 hour every night by the end of prolonged prayers.

I guess I can honestly say that I’m praying for all of you, unless of course you don’t live on the planet.

10 Responses to “I’m Praying For You (and You, and You Too)”


  1. and I thank you! I appreciate your prayers (I live on this planet most of the time.) 🙂

  2. Alyson Says:

    lol. You’re welcome.


  3. this made me giggle. it sounds like my son. everytime he remembers another person’s name, it needs to be added. at least our children are thankful for the people they meet everyday and find it important enough that they be included in prayers , so they are held safe in God’s hands. 🙂 at least they’re thankful kiddos!!!!!

  4. Alyson Says:

    I know, I feel kinda bad getting on to him to wrap it up, being as he IS doing the Godly thing.

  5. Allison Says:

    That’s cute. I really need to start implementing a nightly prayer with my daughter. I have a feeling that our dog will be very blessed in the future!


  6. I love it when you write about these sweet things. It always evokes nice memories of when my kids were that age.

    I think your son may become an efficiency expert when he grows up!

  7. Alyson Says:

    @ allison: I really enjoy it. However, last night he wanted to bless everyone by name again, and Brothers & Sisters was on. Thank God for DVR.

    @ moonbeam: LOL. He is on the right track to be an effeciency expert. I know where he gets it. I am a totatl multi-tasker. Thanks so much. I’m hoping having the stories here will preserve them better storing them in my (sometimes spotty)brain.

  8. indianamatt Says:

    That’s extremely sweet of your son! Sounds like you’re raising a good one.

  9. Alyson Says:

    Thanks Matt, I think he’s a sweetie, but of course I’m partial.


  10. […] 20, 2009 For years prayer time with my oldest son has been a bit of a blessing and a curse.  He wants to ask the Lord’s blessings on everyone that he has ever met, heard of, seen of […]


Leave a Reply

