That’s What Kids Are For

January 10, 2008

“Mommy, do you have any friends?”, my oldest asked me recently while we were laying in his bed saying his bedtime prayers. 

“Yes”, I replied. 

“Well, who are they?”, he asked in a tone that suggested disbelief that I could possibly have any friends. 

“Well………” I began, “Brian and Alan are my friends, Aunt Ashley is my friend, then there’s Miss A, from chruch, and also Mrs J and Mrs. L from chruch…….”.  I paused, trying to think of more of my “friends” (I was a little slow, as prayers make me tired). 

“That’s not very many mommy”, he said, “I have more friends than you”. 

Had he been older, and me more quick-witted, I would’ve told him that I gave up all hope of having a social life when I decided to, you know, GIVE HIM LIFE.  However, he’s too young to understand that, and I didn’t think of that comeback until 72 hours later, so I simply said, “yes honey, you do have more friends than me”. 

8 Responses to “That’s What Kids Are For”

  1. kimzy Says:

    HA HA Thank you for sharing.

    I am new here and are “looking for” others like me.

    Have a great week

    Kimzy


  2. isn’t that true!? so many of my “friends” disappeared when i had a child…. but then again, I have made some new ones since. i can count all my friends on one hand. hehe. but yes.. taking care of the kiddos DOES limit the social life… although I wouldn’t have it ANY other way. yes, sometimes it’s nice to get out, and adult conversation and beverages ARE needed, but in the end, we go home to our lovely children and can’t imagine a world without them. 🙂

    This is great and i love your comeback, sounds like what i was thinking.

  3. Alyson Says:

    @ Kimzy: Glad you liked it. Thanks for stopping in.

    @ le: I know exactly what you mean. I wouldn’t change a thing. I am a firm believer that getting out without the kiddos occasionally makes me a better mommy.

  4. Brian Says:

    It’s much easier to have lots of friends when you’re in school. If it wasn’t for church friends, I’d have very few these days.

    I also think there’s a huge difference between acquaintances and true friends. It’s much better to have a few real friends than a bus-load of acquaintances.

  5. alyson Says:

    Me too. Everyone I named was from church except for you and Alan.

    I agree wholeheartedly with your last statement too. If he’s already got me beat in the friends department, I shudder to think about what it’ll be like when he does get in school.


  6. How funny and cute! Thank goodness our kids can’t read our minds—well, not often.

  7. talea Says:

    I always think of the best comebacks after the conversation has ended. And I really want to restart the argument, just so I can throw it in there, but I know that then they’ll just stump me with another one. So I hang my tail between my legs and just let it be. Hehehe.

  8. Alyson Says:

    @ moonbeam: Thanks. I’m glad mine can’t read my mind, or I would be caught in so many little white lies.

    @ talea: Isn’t that the pitts? I do that all the time too.


Leave a Reply

