DVR: The Greatest Thing Since The Schick Intuition

January 3, 2008

We haven’t used the DVR to bank any episodes of Hannah Montana or Go Deigo Go yet, but we are making it very useful during our live tv viewing.   The first time went a little something like this.

Me:  Why is that girl (on “The Biggest Loser”) crying?

J:  Her partner said something, I missed it.

Me:  Well, why don’t we just REWIND it?” 

What’s that, rewind live tv?  Holy crap, that’s amazing. 

Now that we have discovered the magic of DVR, we can pause for potty breaks, rewind when the sound quality has been inhibited by a screaming child, and skip commercials when we get behind.   We even used the rewind feature last night while trying to determine which far southern state the family on “Supernanny”* was from.  (By the way, we never did figure it out, but I still believe it was somewhere further south then we are, as the mother used the phrase, “I had no IDEAR…….” alot.)    

I love DVR.

DISCLAIMER: 

* I know, we watch some crappy tv, I blame the writer’s strike.  (Who am I kidding, I watched those shows before the writer’s strike.)

15 Responses to “DVR: The Greatest Thing Since The Schick Intuition”


  1. Isn’t it AMAZING????

  2. Red Says:

    I looooooove it ..
    And we were trying to figure out their state too. I said, ‘By God are they from Kentucky?’
    Mister said, “no .. probably Geooorgia. Real south.”

  3. Alyson Says:

    @ moonbeam: YES! I finally get to watch stuff I like.

    @ Red: LOL. I kept saying, “God, I hope they aren’t from Kentucky”. I think somewhere real south too. My guess was Georgia. J thought North Carolina, but I have relatives in NC who sound NOTHING like that.


  4. ok i’m out of the loop on the DVR thing, I don’t even have cable or satellite. i live off of movies (indie flicks, horror, comedy, anything really…)/ I DO remember the show HOUSE, MD…. i would LOVE to be able to rewind, record, and watch that. I’d totally be using it for Pingu, Go Diego Go, and Bob the Builder-tyoe things before i’d ever record anything for myself. my son would own the DVR. lol

  5. angelh28 Says:

    DVR is awesome. We are 2 year veterans of the DVR and cannot imagine life without it. Ever.

  6. Alyson Says:

    @ leatheleuphoria: I’m afraid what will happen when my kiddos figure it out. My boys get real cranky, and fail to understand why I cannot make Disney Channel play their favorite shows on demand. Now I can.

    @ angelh28: It truly is amazing. Everyone says that once you get it you’ll never go back.

  7. talea Says:

    I’m all about crappy TV over here! It’s all I watch. I have garbage taste in television programming and I’m proud of it!

  8. Alyson Says:

    LOL. Some of the stuff we watch is like a train wreck. (exhibit A: Most of the stuff on VH1)

  9. cowgalutah Says:

    cowgal’s to do list
    * must get DVR
    * must watch TV that is worth watching

    I just got hooked on reality TV. I can’t help it now. I watched the biggest loser for the first time this week and can’t wait to see the next episode.

  10. cowgalutah Says:

    no more hunting and fishing shows for me!!!

  11. Alyson Says:

    It is awesome. I resisted because it was going to increase our bill, but they must’ve changed the packages, because it was the same price as before.

    I’ve watched every season of the biggest loser. I love it.

    Your last comment reminded me about the downside of DVR. The hubby can bank hunting and fishing shows. Damn.

  12. cowgalutah Says:

    I just won’t show him how to use it.

  13. indianamatt Says:

    We needed DVR when Screech was on Celebrity Fit Club, but we didn’t have it yet. Who couldn’t watch some of those scenes over and over again?

  14. Allison Says:

    DVR is amazing. Absolutely amazing. I just wish that The Office would come back so that we could have something to DVR.

    My daughter is a huge fan of Diego. In theory, I like it too…she’s learning about animals, Spanish and problem-solving skills. It’s the dramatic pauses that kill me. “Hola, Amigos. Do you see the river dolphin?” – dramatic pause as the child is supposed to point to the center of the screen where the river dolphin is obviously located. There was a really good SNL skit making fun of the dramatic pauses on Dora.

    I should use my DVR to tape SNL. My staying up late days are over!

  15. alyson Says:

    @ cowgal: I would recomend doing that. Mine can never remember how to record things, so I’m good (for now)

    @ Matt: We found ourselves watching that one too. I never knew he was such a jerk.

    @ Allison: I know what you mean, I haven’t really recorded anything for me yet. I’ll have to check out the SNL skit. I can’t stay up that late either. The last time I stayed up for it, JBJ was hosting, and it sucked.


Leave a Reply

