By George, I Think He’s Got It

January 2, 2008

I recently performed the infamous mom’s “roll call”.  You guys know what that is, when your mom is talking to you, but calls you the name of your siblings.  I always hated it. 

Sadly, I do it often, but this time was a doozy.  I was attemting to get on to my youngest son for crawling on the table, but I shouted the name of his brother.  Frustrated, I then hollered the names of my stepchildren, pets, a few high school teachers, the male Brady kids, and some of Santa’s reindeer in rapid succession before finally coming to a rest on my son’s actual name. 

I think George Foreman was onto something by naming all of his kids “George”. 

12 Responses to “By George, I Think He’s Got It”

  1. lethaleuphoria Says:

    lmao – it’s so true!

  2. Alyson Says:

    I used to think he was crazy for doing that, but now as a mother, I think it’s genuis. Thanks for commenting!

  3. Paperspoons Says:

    I do this all the time! When I call them the dog’s name we all usually giggle!

  4. Alyson Says:

    I am so glad I’m not the only one that calls the names of the pets. I’ve took alot of flack for that one.

  5. Allison Says:

    My grandma did this all the time with children and grandchildren. She had 9 kids, so it was a long list. I warned my husband that he would never be called the right name, and I was right.

  6. Alyson Says:

    LOL. Both my grandma’s do/did that. My one grandma always calls me by my mom’s name. Always. My other one called my cousin’s hubby by the name of one of her (my cousin’s) former fiance’s. Poor guy.

  7. Brian Says:

    LOL! My grandmother is always confusing me with other grandkids.

    At the party we attended on New Year’s Eve, I was introduced to someone by a friend, who used my partner’s name for me. As I shook hands I said, “Nice to meet you, but my name is actually ‘Brian’.” I figured it was necessary, or I would have just let it slide.

    Maybe we should just talk like a surfer and refer to everyone as “Dude!”

  8. Alyson Says:

    @ dude: Good Idea.

    I agree, that was the best time to clarify your name.

    Years ago, when I was introduced to my uncle’s girlfriend, I didn’t pay much attention to her, because honestly, I didn’t figure we would hit it off. We did, so then I hated to ask her name. Soon J walked up, and asked me to introduce him. I just sat there like a deer in the headlights. I felt like such a goober.


  9. My sister’s the one who does this! She starts by calling me the name of her husband, three kids, dog, other siblings, etc. It sounds sort of like “Kurbezacbridabomoon.” Or something like that.

  10. alyson Says:

    lol. When J only had the 3 kids, before we met, he had a “name” that incorporated all their names (think brangelina) for when this happened to him.

  11. angelh28 Says:

    LMAO! I do the same thing. I only have two boys but I manage to get it wrong every time. The dogs name is usually spouted somewhere in there too.

  12. Alyson Says:

    It must be one of those things that automatically happen when you become a parent.


Leave a Reply

