2007 In Review

January 2, 2008

On a personal level, 2007 was rough.  There was my step-son’s injury, J’s chronic knee problem, J losing a part-time job, J changing jobs, both of us having minor surgeries, J’s recent hospital stay , and a plethora of other things that I could complain about.  It’s so easy to focus on the negative, but ALOT of good things happened in 2007 too!

J changed jobs.  He now works days.  We actually see each other now.  We have a “normal” life.  Seeing their father every night has made a big difference in the behaviors and attitudes of my children.  For me, having help at home every night has been priceless.  Just knowing that if I want to go somewhere for a few minutes without the boys I can is a true blessing.  It’s nice not to be a single parent (by week) anymore.

My step-son is recovering nicely.  He’s back at work and school now, and has no facial scarring.  It’s amazing he wasn’t killed.  We are truly blessed. 

I got to see alot more of Brian and Alan this year, which is always good.

My sister and her friend relieved me of some of my Sunday School kids, making my job alot easier.

We remodeled our utility/bath room, ourselves, without going to divorce court.

We got our youngest (almost) potty trained.

By far, my favorite moment in 2007 occurred in late March when Brian and I went to see Jon Bon Jovi and Richie Sambora in Nashville.  Small venue + general admission + leaving work at noon = me being 5′ from Jon and Richie and making eye contact with Jon.  It was bliss, and I know it was the closest I’ll ever get to Jon.  The only thing that sucked was the fact that it was a benefit show, so the whole time I knew the best experience of my life was only happening because a young man had died at the hands of a drunk driver.  You can read the review and see some pics here.

What was your highlight of 2007?

3 Responses to “2007 In Review”

  1. Brian Says:

    Honestly, one of the best moments of my year was getting to see you so excited about being that close to Jon. It made my heart glad to see you so happy!


  2. My wish for you in 2008 is that you have no reason to step foot inside a hospital for any reason.

    So glad you made it through, and that you had happiness mixed in with all of the scary stuff.

  3. Alyson Says:

    @ Brian Awww…….That’s so sweet. I may cry.

    @ moonbeam: Me too. (unless my sister has a baby, not that she’s trying, just wishful thinking on my part). Thanks for the well wishes. Hope you have a great year.


Leave a Reply

