Blogbits

December 31, 2007

He’s Back…….:  J got to come home Friday night.  He’s been doing really well with the diet, and his blood sugar has been slowly decreasing.  He only spent one night in the hospital, so maybe we won’t have to go to the poorhouse.  We will, however, probably have to be Master Card’s bitch for a few more years.   

New Year:  We plan to ring in the new year (who am I kidding, I’ll be crashed out by 10:00) with a few close friends.  They’re all descending on our house for food and board games.  I got Trivial Pursuit Totally 80’s for Christmas and am looking forward to playing.  I also got The Singing Bee game, and we played it once, for a few minutes, before J lost his shit and started yelling at all of us.  (I now know that was a side-effect from his wacked out blood sugar.)  Anyways…..I’m looking forward to replacing the memory of that game, with much more plesant ones.

Like Moths to a Flame:  Every time I attempt to weed out the toys in my boys’ room I get caught.  My oldest knows how I am, when he sees stuff in a pile he says, “DON’T SELL THIS, I LOVE IT, I STILL PLAY WITH IT”.   

I Cannot Be Trusted:  Christmas 2003, my sister’s (then) fiance, gave us a restaurant gift card for Christmas.  I lost it.  Christmas 2004, we got 2 restaurant gift cards.  Learning my lesson from the previous year, I placed them in an envelope together, and put them in my wallet.  When leaving restaurant #1, I left the envelope with unused gift card #2 on the table.  Christmas 2007, the tradition continues, I have lost this gift card.   J says I probably threw it away on accident.  I’m sick over it.

Welcome To The New Millenium:  Our remote for our satellite dish recently bit the dust.  J called the company, and was fully prepared to shell out $30 for a replacement.  I however, happened to remember a conversation I had with the company back in the summer, when I was threatening to cancel our service in order to trim expenses.  I told them that one of the reasons I was (thinking about) leaving was that “new” customers could get new recievers, installation, and an iPod for free, and “old” customers got charged out the rear for upgrading.  They offered to send me a new DVR system, but I was so pissed that I declined.  Long story short, they took $15/month off my bill, and I kept everything the same.  So, when the remote died, I thought, “why pay $30 for a new remote when they will give us a whole new system for free?”.   I asked, they put me through to the proper department, and WE’RE GETTING DVR TOMORROW!!!!!!!!  BROUGHT TO US AND INSTALLED FOR FREE!!!!!!!!  AND IT WON’T COST US ANY MORE PER MONTH!!!!!!!  AND THEY’LL GIVE US $20 FOR OUR OLD RECIEVERS!!!!!!!  AND WE GET STARZ FREE FOR 3 MONTHS!!!!!!!!

I predict I’ll have that thing full of unwatched Mama’s Family and Dr. Phil’s in a month.

13 Responses to “Blogbits”

  1. Brian Says:

    You are finally getting DVR! Yay! Ours was recently erased by some disk error and Alan lost all of his “Mama’s Family” shows. Argh.

    That sucks about the gift cards. I read recently that over a billion dollars of gift cards aren’t used every year. That’s why the stores push them so hard.

    We got Liz a gift card and a container of candy for Christmas. After going to her house on Christmas Eve and seeing that she wasn’t home, we decided to stick it in her mailbox. We figured it would be safest there, since tampering with someone’s mail is a federal offense. Unfortunately, she never got the gift. It seems that the mail delivery person thought that it was their present (even though Liz’s name was on it) or one of her neighbors saw us put it in there and made off with it after we left. Anyway… lesson learned.

    Have fun at your party! Happy New Year!

  2. Alyson Says:

    Ohh…..Poor Alan, maybe my son will part with season 1 long enough for him to get a “fix”. I can’t wait for DVR, although I am a bit apprehensive about learning a new remote.

    So many gift cards wind up un-used or lost, it’s such a waste. It makes me sick that I might have thrown $25 away. It sucks what happened to Liz’s present.

    I know someone who’s gift cards got stolen at their wedding reception.


  3. You are so funny, and you’re making me feel a lot better. I have lost gift certificates like you wouldn’t believe. 😦

    And DVR!!! WOW! We just got it last month, for the same reasons you did. It ended up costing us two dollars a month more, and we got free Showtime for a year. I never used to watch TV– now I record every movie that has ever come on cable.


  4. Oh, and Happy New Year!

  5. Alyson Says:

    At least I’m not alone. It’s amazing how terrible I am with them.

    A year! Wow! We got free Showtime for 3 months when I threatened to cancel. I wasn’t really impressed with it, but it was during this past season of “Big Brother” so we got to watch “Big Brother After Dark” whenever could stay up that late. I only watched one movie the whole 3 months.

    I have a feeling I’ll be a TV junkie too.

    Oooh…….I just thought of something. I can record up some episodes of my kiddos favorite shows so that there will be no more meltdowns when Zac and Cody or Deigo aren’t on. DVR will save my sanity.

  6. Alyson Says:

    And Happy New Year to you too!

  7. indianamatt Says:

    I love the fact that your son has to preempt you selling his toys. I’m guessing you like the shows “Clean Sweep” and “Clean House” if you’ve seen them! Regarding the DVR, YES…RECORD KIDDO shows. It’s nice to have Diego or Charlie and Lola when nothing else is making our little Abby happy!

  8. Wendy Says:

    I am in shock at what Brian said about his mail person. But have very happy new year!

  9. Wendy Says:

    Shocked that he took Liz’s stuff, that is. I felt I needed to clarify that.

  10. Alyson Says:

    @ Matt: Clean Sweep is my favorite show. When I organize, I find myself making “Keep, Sell and Toss” piles. Thanks for stopping by. I love your blog.

    @ Wendy: It’s sad isn’t it? When my sister got married, all her wedding cards they got in the mail had been opened and taped back shut. It makes me aprehensive about mailing gift cards.


  11. On “Like Moths to a Flame” – I go into my kid’s rooms while they’re at school, find items I KNOW they don’t care about anymore and put them in a box in the garage. If, after a few weeks, I don’t hear, “HEY! Where’s my . . . ” I donate or consign it (during the day while they are at school). I just need to keep them out of the garage.

    Right now, I’m trying to get rid of a doll house that’s bigger than the back of my van because it’s been replaced by a Barbie Grand Hotel (according to my daughter, it’s The Tipton Hotel). Problem is, she still cares about the doll house, even though the only place for it is smack in the middle of her bedroom floor.

  12. Alyson Says:

    That’s a really good idea. I usually keep the confiscated items around for a couple of weeks, but unless they see them they don’t ever ask for them.

    We had a yard sale at my sister’s house last spring, and my husband was under strict orders to NOT come by with the kids. I didn’t want them to see all their loot out in the front yard.


  13. […] when I went to find them, only to discover they are GONE.  Yes my friends, that’s 3 gift cards lost in as many weeks.  There should be a support group for people like […]


Leave a Reply

