This Sucks

December 28, 2007

You remember that fear I had, the one I wrote about here.  It happened.

I got a frantic call from J yesterday.  His blood sugar was through the roof, and he was being taken to the ER.  At the ER it was 530.  They thold him he is diabetic, got it down in the 200 range, gave him a perscription, and told him to follow up with his regular doctor within the next few days.  The also discussed financing options for our ER visit, since we are sans health insurance at the moment.

We decided, since I was already off work, and our youngest had an obvious ear infection, that we should just take them both to the doctor yesterday.  J’s appointment was first, and without insurance the visit was $56.  His blood sugar was up over 300.  This worried the doctor, who decided to put him in the hospital.  Did I mention, we have no health insurance?  Due to all this craziness going on, I was able to persuade the pediatirician to call the baby in an antibiotic without going through the whole office visit thing.  The antibiotic was $35. 

J is in the hospital, and his sugar levels keep fluctuating.  He may not even get to go home today.  I feel that I should say more, but I cannot wrap my brain around anything long enough to form complete sentences.  Did I mention, we have NO HEALTH INSURANCE? 

It appears that a MAJOR lifestyle change is in order around our parts.  I have taken the first step by stocking the house with splenda and sugar-free treats, and bringing all the leftover Christmas cookies and candy in to my co-workers today.  

7 Responses to “This Sucks”

  1. Brian Says:

    My employer’s diabetes was so advanced that she was actually going blind, but she went on a strict diet and lost alot of weight. The diabetes pretty much went away and her vision is fine.

    It scares me, because diabetes runs in my family very badly and all I eat is sugar. I really need a major change, too.

    I hope Jess can come home today, but they do need to make sure that he’s going to be fine before letting him go.

  2. Alyson Says:

    What happened with your employer is the same thing that happened to my dad a couple of years ago. He has lost alot of weight. Mom recently told him, “I can’t beleive you’re not hungry, you used to eat all the time” He replied, “What the hell are you talking about, I’ve been hungry for 2 years”.

    I guess I’ll be making us sugar free treats from now on.


  3. I’m so sorry to hear this about J, you both must have been worried sick. Probably still are. I’m glad you didn’t hesitate — or maybe you did hesitate, but went to the hospital anyway. But the hospital bill is a huge drag, and you probably already know that even if you do have insurance you often get stuck with the bill anyway. This happened to us last month with Buck. Our insurance is supposedly the good version of Blue Cross (which takes a huge chunk out of our paychecks each month, but we’ve been getting bills that say insurance is only covering a VERY SMALL portion of it. And the costs are so inflated! What the heck are paying for every month? Seems like we’re paying for nothing.

    I’m glad J is getting good care.

  4. Alyson Says:

    I know what you mean. We had that brand of insurance for several years. We had it when we had our 2nd child, and I’m still paying on the bill for his birth.

    Good care, for the most part, I’ll post about one lady at the hospital soon….CRAZY.


  5. I’m so sorry you’re going through this. It’s horrible to have the double whammy of worrying about health issues and how to pay for getting them taken care of. We have no insurance right now either, and it really scares us.

    I hope J and the baby (and you) are doing much better.

  6. Brian Says:

    I know I tend to politicize things, but I just wanted to point out that this is another example of why we need universal health care in this country. It’s hard to find anyone that can share a positive experience about their health insurance (or lack thereof). We are headed for a health care crisis if nothing changes.

  7. Alyson Says:

    @ moonbeam: Thank you so much. We are all doing much better. We are all adjusting to having no sugar in the house.

    I knew something like this would happen if I didn’t get on the ball with finding us some type of insurance. I rolled the dice, and lost.

    @ Brian: I totally agree. Healthcare is a major problem. The miniscule amount of assistance that is available is a joke, and easily abused.


Leave a Reply

