Not In Her Job Description

December 28, 2007

I think at the hospital where J is, RN must stand for Registered Nutjob.  His admitting nurse, who cared for him all last night is C-R-A-Z-Y.  In doing all the paperwork, she kept asking us stuff, and we answered, then 60 seconds later she would ask again.  He told her 10 times he had a headache and hadn’t gotten anything for it, asked her 5 times for a pair of scrub pants, and never recieved either. 

The deciding factor in her lack of sanity, however, occurred when she asked J where he worked.  When he told her, her eyes got big and she said, “Those people there are crazy”.   Yeah lady, it’s a home for people with psychological problems.  She continued, “Seriously, those people are crazy, I used to have to go there when I was a social worker, they’re crazy”.  J’s sitting there like, yeah, I know, I work there.  She kept on, saying, “I went back to school to be a nurse, I couldn’t stand being around all those crazy people when I was a social worker.

The woman got a degree in social work, and was surprised that her job required her to deal with “crazy people”.  That’s like the people who join the army and are like, “oh crap, you mean I have to go to war?  I want out”.  Or, an elementary education graduate saying, “I have to work with CHILDREN?”  What did she think social worker’s did? 

5 Responses to “Not In Her Job Description”

  1. Allison Says:

    Sounds like the residents where your husband works are very fortunate to have him instead of that nurse!

    And if you have memory issues, you should take notes so as to avoid insulting the people you are questioning. I’m a little testy when I have to repeat myself even to my husband…goes triple for a person who’s being paid to listen to me.

  2. Alyson Says:

    @ moonbeam: People continue to amaze me. At least he only had her that night.

    @ Allison: They are indeed lucky that she changed occupations.

    LOL @ “I’m a little testy when I have to repeat myself even to my husband…goes triple for a person who’s being paid to listen to me.” Me too!

    Maybe if I encounter her again I’ll present her with a notepad and pen.

  3. Wendy Says:

    Well that’s just awful. How many people like her don’t leave? I shudder to think about it.

  4. Alyson Says:

    That’s the scary part. It’s bad enough to have mental illness, without the added problem of having a social worker, there to help you, that is incapable of dealing with your illness.


Leave a Reply

