How I Spent My Christmas Vacation

December 26, 2007

As I mentioned in an earlier post, I managed to have an unprecidented 4 day weekend.  Friday night, we entertained, Saturday we attended a Christmas party at J’s work, Sunday we had J’s family Christmas, Monday J worked, and I stayed home with the boys, and yesterday we had Christmas with my family.  For the sake of not droning on and on about my boring life, I have decided to provide a summarized list of the things I did, and didn’t do, on my “vacation”. 

Things I did:

  1. Beat Brian and Alan at dominoes.
  2. Inadvertently, concocted the world’s thickest brownies for dessert Friday night. 
  3. Determined that if I’m ever invited to contribute recipes for a cookbook, it is a must to include pan sizes, so a person that tries my recipe does not accidentally make the world’s thickest brownies. 
  4. Found myself emotionally touched by watching the residents at J’s work revel in opening their Christmas presents and being visited by Santa
  5. Saw the glee in the faces of a resident and his mother, whom our church provided Christmas for.  And was further touched by the fact that the mother decalered us “so kind” because our church began a no cost Sunday feeding program, of which she is on the recieving end.
  6. Cooked for hours on end.  With my concoctions including a birthday cake for Jesus (For my Sunday School class), a mandrian orange cake (new recipe, it’s a keeper), sausage balls, and several casseroles.   
  7. Gave J the wrong phone number to call to report a 12 am power outage, resulting in a disturbed slumber for some little old woman.    
  8. Complimented 50-something year old my sister-in-law on her nice rack.  (The one she was cooking ham on, what did you guys think)
  9. Made it through a 9 hour Christmas celebration with my in-laws without using alcohol or doing any physical harm to anyone.
  10. Made a “tent” with my sons using a dozen chairs, a little tykes basketball goal, and a multitude of sheets and blankets. 
  11. Took a 2 hour nap with my son in said tent.  (The tent and the nap was my favorite part of the weekend)
  12. Watched “Toy Story” (1 and 2), “The Sword and The Stone” and a couple of episodes of “The Dukes of Hazzard” in the “tent”.
  13. Served and ate lunch in the “tent”.
  14. Cooked dinner for my parents on Christmas Eve, but forgot to invite them until they had already eaten dinner. 
  15. With the help of my sons, baked Santa some homeade chocolate chip cookies.
  16. Played Clue with my step-kids.
  17. Had Christmas at my Granny’s with all my cousins in attendance, for the first time in 10 years.
  18. Gained 5 pounds.

Things I did not do:

  1. Get enough sleep.
  2. Do any major cleaning.
  3. Watch “A Christmas Story” in it’s entirity.
  4. Bathe all day Monday.  (Gross, I know, but I did manage to get a shower sometime around midnight)
  5. Get out of my pajama’s all day Monday.
  6. Regret my decision to stay home from work Monday.
  7. Utilize any willpower, whatsoever.

I hope you all had a wonderful Christmas.

6 Responses to “How I Spent My Christmas Vacation”

  1. Allison Says:

    Fun list! My daughter got a little tykes basketball goal for Christmas. I’m glad to hear how versatile it is.

  2. Alyson Says:

    It worked really well. My kids love theirs. Thanks for stopping by, and great name!

  3. Red Says:

    I LOVE thick brownies. I wonder how come they taste better than thin ones.
    9 hours with the inlaws? I believe we were at the inlaws’ house for 8. *shakes head* It’s a miracle we’re still sane.
    Glad to see you had a good Christmas!!

  4. Alyson Says:

    These are terribly thick. I think they were supposed to go in a 9″ x 13″ pan, and I put them in a 6″ square one.

    Yeah, 9 hours! Sometimes I don’t know how we do it.


  5. It all sounds absolutely wonderful! So happy for you!

  6. Alyson Says:

    Thanks. Without the respite Monday, I might have gone insane. It was just what the doctor ordered.


Leave a Reply

