Christmas Meme

December 20, 2007

I stole this from Brian.  I’m not usually a meme person, but I love holidays, and couldn’t resist.

1. Wrapping or gift bags?

Both.  I ALWAYS wrap for kids.  It’s so much more fun.  For adults I wrap, unless I can’t find a approporiate box for the item, then I bag. 

2. Real or artificial tree?

Fake.  We had real trees growing up, but they were kinda a pain.  

3. When do you put up the tree?

In my single days I put it up a week or so before Thanksgivning.  Now that I have kids I wait until the weekend after Thanksgiving.

4. When do you take the tree down?

If it were my way, the day after Christmas, however, my husband is a strict believer in waiting until after New Year’s, so it usually takes us until 2 weeks after Christmas to get it down.

5. Do you like eggnog?

Never tried it, don’t want to.

6. Favorite gift received as a child?

A Cabbage Patch Doll, from my uncle.  I was 7 or 8 at the time.  It’s red-headed and her name’s Clara Burnadine.  My sister cut all her hair off within a month of me getting her. 

7. Do you have a nativity scene?

Yes. The figurines were my Grandma’s, although I don’t remember ever seeing it set up in her house before. 

8. Worst Christmas gift you ever received?

Ummmmmmm…………I hate to call anyone out on this one.  I plead the 5th

9. Mail or email Christmas cards?

Mail.  We also hand them out at church. 

10. Favorite Christmas Movie?

National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation.  Without a doubt. 

11. When do you start shopping for Christmas?

I shop all year, so January.

12. Favorite thing to eat at Christmas?

Homeade Reeses bars, Puppy chow, sausage balls, granny’s bananna pudding, granny’s strawberry cake, peanut butter balls…..I could go on all day. 

13. Clear lights or colored on the tree?

Clear are so classy, but so boring.  I like colored ones on my tree, and clear and red ones on my wreath. 

14. Favorite Christmas song?

For comedic purposes, “Merry Christmas From The Family”.  Religious would be “Beautiful Star Of Bethlehem” or “The Trees of the Field”

6 Responses to “Christmas Meme”


  1. #12: What on earth do you southern people eat? It always sounds so wonderful, and completely foreign to me. Homemade Reese’s? Puppy Chow? Tell me more about these wonderful things I know I’d love. And hey, do you put peanuts in your Coke bottle? I’ve heard this is a southern thing but I’ve never seen it done. Do you do it, and if so, why?

  2. alyson Says:

    Homeade Reeses are just what they sound like. I sprinkled cinnamon sprinkles on them the last time I made them, and they were delicious. Puppy chow is chex cereal mixed with melted chocolate, butter, and peanut butter, and dusted with powdered sugar. Both recipes are sinful. I’ll put up the recipes later.

    Personally, I have never put peanuts in my coke, or even seen it done. I’ve met people that have done it though.

  3. cowgalutah Says:

    So glad you explained the puppy chow, cause I was going to have to get a meal together for ya if you are eating dog food for Christmas. I won’t have that ya know!
    Other than that…great meme. I would steal this one but I have outdone myself with the meme’s this month.

  4. Alyson Says:

    LOL. Thanks for the concern. The name is misleading I know. I’ve also heard it called White Trash.

    You have been on quite the meme kick!

    I’ll try to get those recipes up later today.

  5. Red Says:

    Eggnog is yucky.
    Imma stealing this one.

  6. Alyson Says:

    Steal away. Can’t wait for your answers.


Leave a Reply

